Garlic Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Wow! Been trying to find a way to use kale, and this was perfect, quick easy and perfect. Now I will always stock kale !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Tasted great, and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
A great way to make kale tasty. I ended up adding a litttle bit of water and covered the pan for a few minutes until the kale wilted. Had it with grilled shrimp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Oh my gosh!! I've never had kale before but my friend was telling me about these kale chips that her brother had made, so i thought I'd try it. They were fabulous! Highly recommend! I wanted to try this recipe with the other half of the bunch and I am so glad that I did!!! This is my new favorite thing!!! Thanks for this recipe!! Easy and delicous!! I used some canola spray also but nothing is actually necessary! It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I am still learning to love kale. Using 6 cloves of garlic, a little salt & pepper, and cooking slowly seems to help. Don't let your greens turn brown- it makes them chalky. Next time I'll try steaming them, as suggested below, to reduce kale's bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I used this recipe for the first time I cooked kale (tonight). I'd never had it before so I wasn't sure what to expect, flavour-wise. I put this as a side dish with oven-baked chicken legs and it turned out very nicely. Warning to any new to kale: it's rather bitter and has a similar taste/testure to spinach. This was incredibly easy and flavourful so I will *definitely* make it again. Next time, I will make a couple changes: 1. 6 cloves of garlic, added AFTER the kale (when you add garlic first, you risk burning and wrecking the flavour; it is MUCH tastier when added in the last 1-2 mins when cooking it by sautee). Like some others, I just prefer more garlic. 2. Adding some salt or sugar to offset the bitterness. I may try steaming (as others suggested) by putting the kale in a microwave-safe dish with a little water for a few minutes (I need to buy a new steamer and I keep forgetting). Only change I made to this recipe tonight was adding a bit more oil, because I cooked it in a large skillet instead of a saucepan for the larger surface area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Just ok for my family. I added a little kosher salt. I will probably fix again anyway. Maybe it will grow on them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I use this all the time but slight variations- if you steam the kale first it takesm more of the bitterness out. Also, I like to sauté until crispier, and add red pepper flakes for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum. Just needed a little fresh cracked black pepper and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this for my family and everyone loves it. I like to add a pinch of sea salt and some grated Parmesan when it hits the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States