Garlic-Herb Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Used dried herbs as didn't have fresh. Just used less. Came out very moist and tender, could cut it with a fork. I made two loins, thinly sliced the leftover for sandwiches. I would like to try this again basted with barbecue or another sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this recipe with pork roast on the bone which required closer to 60-minutes at the lower heat. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
great recipe. i have made it twice now and it was great both times . i may cut the salt back a little next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I did not mess with this recipe, except that I did not have sage on hand! What makes this so exceptional, is the fact that it is so moist and tender. Also I often rate for freezing. I sliced partions, and froze them. Pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good. I was only making a 1 lb pork since it was just for my husband and I. I reduced the ingredients by half but otherwise followed the instructions. It did take me a full 50 minutes to get to the correct temp but it was perfectly cooked with great flavor and was very juicy. I plan to make some yummy tenderloin sandwiches with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Different cuts of meat are so hard to judge in any recipe, I did use a pork loin roast but not one of those thin rolled pork tenderloin roasts. They do cook fast but my roast wasn’t anywhere near done and still red in the thickest part after the exact timing on this recipe. It was called a “premium pork loin roast” I think. I had fresh garlic, but did use dried spices and had to use vegatable oil because I was out of olive oil but after I got it cooked through, (and believe me I am not shy to eat pork that’s a little pink, but rare isn’t good) it was delicious. It was super easy. I made the paste and let it sit to marinate in the fridge for the afternoon. Just some philosophy; Seems to me that people don’t eat pork roast a whole lot. But they aren’t that relatively expensive per serving. They have some kind of reputation for being fussy and time consuming (and they’re not) and are a great treat to wow company like you slaved all day in the kitchen over a fancy, pricey piece of meat. In the end mine came out juicy, tender, and spiced just right to give it a real gourmet flavor infused in the meat. I had used another recipe in the past that I marinated overnight, but this one tops it and I will make this again. I think there’s something to that hot oven for a few minutes in the beginning and then turning it down to a lower temperature to finish cooking that really brings out the flavors in the paste rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Fabulous pork dish! It was super easy and took little prep time. I made some modifications. First, I too didn't use fresh herbs as suggested by other folks. Instead of rosemary and sage specifically, I used dried oregano and Italian seasoning. I also added 1/2 lemon juice into the paste - it made the paste slightly watery but I think it added to the flavor and kept the pork loin moist. I also quartered about 6-7 red potatoes, salt-and-peppered them and drizzled with olive oil, and placed the potatoes around the pork loin to roast along. About 30 mins into roasting, I topped the pork and potatoes with slices of red onion and let the onion cook to a crisp. The whole ensemble was amazing! Try it - it is really easy. I served the roast pork with a tomato mozzarella salad with homemade vinegrette. We had plenty for leftovers too, so the next day we had it with a side of chicken and mushroom rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I rubbed the paste on the meat and let sit in fridge overnight and WOW - so flavorful. Cooked overnight in crockpot on low with enough water to cover meat and the pork was so tender. Used liquid to make gravy and served with mashed potatoes and peas. This might just be my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was really good. Mine was a little salty but that could be on me I think I added a little more than it called for. I was worried that it wouldn't be cooked all the way because everything I have read says that pork should be cooked to 160, but I checked it again before serving and it made its way up to 160 so I was happy. I used dried (ground) herbs and this was still really good. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Otteni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Edwards, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is by far the absolute best pork roast in the world. You will do yourself a huge favor using this recipe. The flavor is incredible and it is so moist. Just don't overcook - please use a meat thermometer whenever doing a pork roast. Nothing worse than dry pork. The fresh herbs are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States