Garlic-Herb Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent--timing was perfect, very easy and quick, made rub exactly as described except dried herbs and minced garlic from a jar. Short cook time with initial roasting yielded perfectly done, very juicy and tender roast. I accidentally let it roast a little longer at 450 than instructed due to interruption by my kids. Turned oven off just as it barely hit 145 degrees on the meat thermometer, covered loosely with foil, left in the oven, ran to basketball practice, came back and it's perfect. I mixed the rub in a mini food processor and used pre-minced, jarred garlic. My roast was 2.8 pounds. When it was roasted smelled like sausage. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Easy, will make again, dried spices work great as does minced garlic in oil. Instead of a shallow roasting pan, I used a glass dish with as many cut vegetables (onion, baby carrots, garlic cloves, mini sweet peppers, etc) as I could fit all around which were coated with olive oil. Once I turned oven temperature down to 300-deg F and roasted for 20 minutes, the internal temperature was still 150-deg F, so in order to get it to DONE at 170-deg F, I added an additional 50 minutes (checking at the 30 minute mark). The temp did not increase while resting. I scooped out the veggies and juice and put them in a pot on the stove to serve on the side extra hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anastasia Strachkova
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
My husband loved this dish, he said it was the best pork dish he ever had! I used 1 tsp of dry sage and 1 tsp of dry rosemary instead of fresh. I rubbed the paste on the pork and wrapped it in foil in the morning to marinade, so all I had to do in the evening was put it in the oven (still in the foil). The cooking time for me worked perfectly and there was no clean up of the roasting pan. The meat was very tender and you could taste the marinade even in the middle of the piece. Served it with the large salad and grilled asparagus. Love it!!! Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
So simple but very flavorful. I did need to cook about 40 minutes at 300 degrees after the initial 15 min/450. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Virgilio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I cooked it on a rack in a shallow roasting pan at 450 degrees for 15 minutes and 350 degrees for 30 minutes, added a little water to the pan for the last 10 -15 mins, and it was juicy and cooked to 165 degrees. Fabulous taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
great recipe! I cooked it to 165F and it was still very juicy. I also guess that the different timing people claim to have used is a matter of taste and the oven you have. the thermometer is key to ensure you cook it to your liking. definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ave Torres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe the other day and I will admit I am NOT one of the worlds better cooks, but I can hold my own. But copying this recipe and "clearly" not thinking it through, I did as it was printed. I cooked it until the internal temperature was 145 degrees. WHAT?? PORK? I think not. Pork is 175 degrees. Needless to say - we ate the potatoes and the asparagus that I prepared to be done when the pork would be done, about 1/2 hour before the meat was done. I'll double check the recipe next time. It was delicious - just not eaten with the other sides I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Tried this on a 7-1/2 pound top loin pork roast from Costco. Tripled the garlic, 2 TBsp salt, 1 TBsp pepper, 1/4 cup sage and 2 TBsp dried rosemary. Enough olive oil to make a paste -- it was more than triple or quadruple the recipe amount. It took about 3 hours for the internal temp to reach 145. Our guests raved about it. It looked and tasted fantastic. A definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The taste was good. I would never add salt like most recipes call for, so only added a sprinkle. The cooking time was way off for me, it almost looks like they meant pork tenderloin not centre cut loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Absolutely Delicious! I loved it but I used spices instead of fresh herbs and vegetable oil instead of olive oil. It turned out wonderful but the cook time is off. I ended up cooking it 20 minutes at 450º and 75 minutes at 300º to get it fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States