Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was just ok to me. Of all of the ingredients, I like green beans the least, but it was what I liked most in this recipe. The caramelized garlic and cheese taste wasn't really there for me (and yes, I do know what a head of garlic is). I used frozen beans instead of canned as some others had done. It was the only change I made. My husband had no comments on it and he likes green beans and loves anything with cheese on it. Won't bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I fixed this for Easter Dinner and everyone loved it. I did decrease the amount on olive oil to 1 Tbsp and I used frozen cut green beans. The garlicy flavor was a hit with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for our Easter dinner here in Uganda for all our missionaries. I used fresh green beans that I pre-cooked and made no other changes to the recipe. It was amazing!!! Everyone loved them. I will be making this many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirembe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Every green vegetable in our house is sauteed in olive oil and garlic, lots of garlic. Fresh green beans are so much more tasty when cooked this way. I say you can't go wrong with olive oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
good recipe but make sure that you brown the butter first. My daughter did taught me (the old dog)that trick. 3 T real butter, melt in skillet - let brown lightly, then add 2 tsp chopped garlic. Let cook 1 minute (no longer, it'll burn).Add 1T olive oil. Add green beans-salt&pepper them liberally, let cook over low heat till they are limp and slightly browning. Add cheese or don't-either way its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe, with one big exception..canned green beans? I've made this for years with a few changes. I steam fresh green bean until they are cooked. Then in a separate fry pan I cook lots of sliced garlic until it is a deep rich carmel color and crispy. You can also throw in sliced almonds. Toss the green beans with your garlic/olive oil mixture...some salt an pepper and yum..it's delicious! Frozen string beans also work for this...but fresh is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Made these today, they were great! Used canned cut green beans and was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doonze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was good, but I'm really giving it 5 starts because my three sons not only ate their beans tonight - they devoured them! Even my two-year-old ate them without complaint! I don't think that's ever happened before! One change was that I used frozen organic beans instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is the perfect side for the garlic lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhiloDot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andrews, Texas, USA
Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
A HEAD of garlic is a whole garlic, not a clove. I think the people that claimed to need "more" garlic may have misread the directions. There are like 10-15 cloves of garlic in a head. I really liked this recipe. As others, I only used 1 Tbsp oil. I may use less Parm next time just to get more veg flavor, but it was tasty. I added the parm while hot, and it really coated the grean beans well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 841) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States