Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I've made this many many times. It's delicious and easy as written but you can also make adjustments (after trying as is) by adding almonds or doing without the butter. I either use fresh green beans or the bagged ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very tasty side dish. Added some bacon bites on top to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVANDYKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very good. I used fresh green beans instead of canned. I steamed them for 4 minutes before adding to garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
It looks like I made this 2 times now without realizing it. In my first review I made 1/2 recipe and followed it and said it made a nicely flavored oil that went well with rice. On my second attempt I made the full recipe but cut the parm, oil, and butter in half to make it healthier. I also used green beans with sea salt and lower sodium. I thought the green beans still tasted like they came from a can and the parmesan cheese became really sticky. It doesn't appear it is a recipe that can be lightened up. Overall, I think I will stick with the fresh green beans when making garlic or roasted green beans. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Dependably delicious but average as is. I chose to use fresh green beans, and dressed them up with sautéed chopped celery and red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This did not work out for me. The taste was bland and had to add extra seasonings. I try at least 3-5 recipes a week and this one will not be a repeater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I boil potatoes and add them to green beans I use fresh green beans, and do not use cheese add onions cut thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I've been making this recipe for around 5 years...and it is loved by everyone. I usually use fresh garlic in garlic recipes, but for this dish I just use the already minced garlic you can buy in a bottle...about two heaping teaspoons...instead of mincing an entire head of garlic by hand. It will save a LOT of time and I cannot taste the difference (I've tried it both ways). In addition, use the "shredded" parmesan instead of the grated, and if you can get a good quality parm...it will make a world of difference. This recipe is a staple in my kitchen, btw. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
One of my favs! So glad to see it on here! Been making it for years this way and it's nice to now make it for my kids :) So glad to see that you posted it on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Tried it tonight! It was perfect, the flavor wasn't so overpowering that the flavor of the green beans still stood out, while be accented by the garlic and cheese. I will DEF make this again. The key is DON'T OVERCOOK! I made canned beans, only cooked until hot, nowhere near 10 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States