Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Everyone at a family dinner seemed to like them except for my 11 year-old stepson who politely whispered in my ear that he didn't like them. So when his older brother said that he would gladly eat them for him, the 11 year-old decided he would eat them after all. Apparently spite never tasted so good! Like others, I steamed fresh green beans and used less olive oil than called for. I also only used 3 cloves and that was plenty of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Very easy to make and tasty. Would probably be better with fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this tonight with canned beans for guests. They loved it! Only thing I did differently was to cook the beans for 20 minutes rather than 10. (As we like ours softer). Next time I will double the recipe so there will be "seconds." Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
We've made these several times. Leave off the cheese, much better without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The ingredients were good but I gave it 3 stars because cooking canned green beans for 10 mins is way too long - they are already cooked - just need to be warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Good and simple. I'm used to steaming my green beans, and I prefer the texture of steamed (these come out more al dente), but I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Used fresh green beans and don't forget the parmesan, it adds that extra yumminess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter and thought they were very good. Next time I might increase the amount of garlic though, but I'm a super garlic lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I used fresh green beans instead of canned green beans and it unfortunately was way too oily for me. Next time I would definitely cut down on the olive oil and butter! It needed quite a bit of salt using the fresh beans and the fresh beans took longer to cook - which I anticipated - but that is something to take note of if you are using fresh beans. If you use fresh beans you may need to either steam/lightly boil them first to cook them a little or you could add a little water to the pan and cover and steam that way after sauteing them which is what I did and it worked. I think this dish would be great with a little pancetta or some fresh lemon/zest. I did leave off the parmesan cheese since it turned out so oily but if I cut down the oil then I think the cheese would be excellent - fresh grated only! The recipe definitely has potential but just didn't work out for me this time. I'll definitely give it another go though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Not bad! Really easy, quick green bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmACee1203

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States