Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Delicious! I steamed fresh green beans until tender instead of canned green beans. I also used only 1 teaspoon of olive oil and no butter to cut back on calories and fat. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a wonderful side dish that can compliment many meals. I used frozen french green beans and steamed them before adding them to the pan. I also used a blend of grated and shredded Parmesan. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
AWESOME! I used 1 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp Butter, 2 garlic cloves, and 12 oz fresh green beans. I threw everything in together on med-high head and covered with lid. Stir occasionally and cook until tender (10 minutes). Sprinkled with 1/2 cup parm and it was great. My hubby finished them off. Next time I'll make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
very tasty side dish, I can many jars of green beans and this was a nice alternative to plain old beans with butter, loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I used frozen beans and made this the day before Thanksgiving. It reheated well (I tried to cook the beans on the more crispy side knowing that I was going to reheat them) I followed other peoples suggestions and didn't use nearly as much olive oil (1 teaspoon?), and only 2-3 cloves of garlic. It turned out nice and was a great complement to dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I adapted the recipe a bit and it was great. First, I strained the canned beans and let them sit for a few minutes to dry a little (I think this may help prevent sogginess). I used less butter and a bit less oil. When I sauteed the onion and garlic I added chopped pieces of turkey bacon. After adding beans I tossed it all together and turned heat to med-low and let it cook for about 5 minutes. I spread parm cheese over the top and then stuck it in the oven under the broiler (watch very closely!) until the cheese just began to turn a light brown. This dish turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great for a change on the traditional green beans. Sometimes the garlic can be a bit strong, but overall quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nattydrum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love these, but I added honey ( or sugar) & I used mozzerella, went perfect with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I used fresh green beans instead of canned, and minced garlic instead of sliced. It was still pretty bland. I even added extra garlic. The cook time was pretty spot on--just taste test a few times through--you don't want mushy :) Overall, pretty good. Although, to shave calories and save nutrients I normally partially steam green beans, then do a quick few minute saute in garlic and olive oil with a pat of butter. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
REALLY GREASY! I would use maybe half of the oils listed. I made this with fresh green beans, pre-steamed, and it was just ridiculously greasy. On the flip side, my carnivore husband said that even though they weren't good, they were tolerable. I don't know that the amount of fat he took in with them really makes up for the good of the vegetable serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States