Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was just ok to me. Of all of the ingredients, I like green beans the least, but it was what I liked most in this recipe. The caramelized garlic and cheese taste wasn't really there for me (and yes, I do know what a head of garlic is). I used frozen beans instead of canned as some others had done. It was the only change I made. My husband had no comments on it and he likes green beans and loves anything with cheese on it. Won't bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I fixed this for Easter Dinner and everyone loved it. I did decrease the amount on olive oil to 1 Tbsp and I used frozen cut green beans. The garlicy flavor was a hit with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for our Easter dinner here in Uganda for all our missionaries. I used fresh green beans that I pre-cooked and made no other changes to the recipe. It was amazing!!! Everyone loved them. I will be making this many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirembe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Every green vegetable in our house is sauteed in olive oil and garlic, lots of garlic. Fresh green beans are so much more tasty when cooked this way. I say you can't go wrong with olive oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
good recipe but make sure that you brown the butter first. My daughter did taught me (the old dog)that trick. 3 T real butter, melt in skillet - let brown lightly, then add 2 tsp chopped garlic. Let cook 1 minute (no longer, it'll burn).Add 1T olive oil. Add green beans-salt&pepper them liberally, let cook over low heat till they are limp and slightly browning. Add cheese or don't-either way its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe, with one big exception..canned green beans? I've made this for years with a few changes. I steam fresh green bean until they are cooked. Then in a separate fry pan I cook lots of sliced garlic until it is a deep rich carmel color and crispy. You can also throw in sliced almonds. Toss the green beans with your garlic/olive oil mixture...some salt an pepper and yum..it's delicious! Frozen string beans also work for this...but fresh is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Made these today, they were great! Used canned cut green beans and was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doonze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was good, but I'm really giving it 5 starts because my three sons not only ate their beans tonight - they devoured them! Even my two-year-old ate them without complaint! I don't think that's ever happened before! One change was that I used frozen organic beans instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is the perfect side for the garlic lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhiloDot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andrews, Texas, USA
Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
A HEAD of garlic is a whole garlic, not a clove. I think the people that claimed to need "more" garlic may have misread the directions. There are like 10-15 cloves of garlic in a head. I really liked this recipe. As others, I only used 1 Tbsp oil. I may use less Parm next time just to get more veg flavor, but it was tasty. I added the parm while hot, and it really coated the grean beans well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States