Garlic Ginger Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Plain. Really, really plain. In order to not have to throw it out I made a lot of changes to the recipe. I added soy sauce, more ginger, more garlic, some sambal olek, some frozen veggies (peas & carrots is what I had on hand), some chopped up water chestnuts and then some dashes of sesame oil at the end of cooking. It wasn't amazing with my changes but at least we could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
yum, i have made it a few time, modifying it here and there... good every time... nice and basic, lends itself to flexibility
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Best way I have made tofu! I advise salting to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
My husband like this more than I. I would give it 3. Not bad, but I agree with others that it's a bit bland. I only used one 14oz. container of tofu and used the full amount of everything else. Next time I'm going to double the ginger, garlic and tamari. I also added broccoli to the pan to steam for the last 10 minutes. It's definitely worth another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
If you are a tofu lover this easy recipe will be a staple in your house. As I did not have fresh ginger, I used powdered, and I did not have tamari so I use soy sauce. What is especially great about this recipe is you can really flavor it to taste. I added scallions, smoked paprika, and some chili sauce as I like it hot. This would be great served over noodles or rice. You could marinate the tofu in the tamari for an hour instead of cooking it for 30 min for softer tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Buel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newhall, California, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, except I only used 24 oz of tofu, rather than 32. It still turned out pretty bland, and did not look nearly as seasoned as the picture shows. I ended up adding some rice I had cooked the previous day to the skillet with the tofu, and cooked some broccoli & baby corn to add to it. I also added a bit of basil, parsley, and black pepper and it turned out pretty nicely. I would make this again, but only if I cooked it the way I did this time. If it was that bland with 24 oz of tofu, I can't imagine how it would be if I used the recommended 32oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Rerally great! Left out the tamari, didn't have any. Also forgot to squirt with lime juice, and instead added soy sauce. Sauteed exra ginger and garlic for more zing. Only used 1 lb tofu, which made more than enough for a family of 4. Served over cooked rice and stir fry veggies such as green pepper, carrots, mushrooms, onions, and pineapple. I used this as the main course, with Easy Japanese Steakhouse Soup by Cooking kid for an "appetizer". Yum, yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved it! I didn't have any tamari so I just used soy sauce. It tasted just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. My son is a football player, and aside from us trying to eat more healthy meals, we're trying to incorporate more good proteins in our diets. I made this last night and served it straight, along with stuffed squash blossoms and a chilled ginger fruit soup. It went together rather nicely. I think this a good base tofu recipe that can be used in/with many other dishes. Anything my son eats and says is good, is worth making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I am giving the an average rating because it was only a piece to a larger (and absent) meal. These need to be in "something" a salad, stir fry, or something else. Also I would not recommend using store bought minced garlic (mince it yourself). The store bought garlic took on a burnt flavor. I put the ginger through a cheese grader instead of mincing it, and if I did the same with the garlic, I think it may have been okay. Besides the minor burnt taste, I think the tofu was great! Unfortunately, I ate all eight servings and was still hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States