Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
These wings were so good! Made according to the recipe except we added some hot pepper jelly to the sauce. So delicious! We are saving this in our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made these the other night and they are delicious. We're not normally "wing people" and this was my first time making wings. We live overseas and our oven doesn't keep constant temps so I opted to fry the wings. Other than that I kept the recipe as is. I'm making them again tonight (per my husband's request) and decided to make the following changes. Instead of hot sauce on the wings I will keep the "asian" theme and use the Sriracha sauce. I have been marinating the wings since this morning. I'm also going to double the Sriracha in the sauce to bring up the heat to counter the sweetness of the sauce. After I fry them I toss them in the sauce, remove and let sit for 5 minutes on a cooling rack over a cookie sheet. This allows the wings to absorb the sauce and any grease to drip off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I may have reviewed this the first time I tried it, but now I have to say these are our favorite wings ever! Daughter came home to visit and she gave big thumbs up also. Chef John, you're the bomb! And the sauce for this would be great on anything-- thinking of trying it on shrimp soon. I don't even want to dispose of extra sauce, I save it for other uses. I follow the recipe exactly except a bit more garlic and more Siracha for heat, just a personal tweek. I make double the sauce to make it easier to coat chicken and I have found the step to coat with sauce and place on tray a few minutes helps sauce to penetrate but keep the crunchy crust. Super yum! This will be my Super Bowl contribution this year. Thanks, Chef John! We love all your dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I significantly changed this recipe,and am rating it so I have a record of the changes, because my husband can't stop raving about it.I used 3# of the whole wing, uncut, I put 2T olive oil, 1/4 c hoisin sauce ,2 clove minced garlic,1t poultry magic seasoning blend 1/2 t cayenne pepper, 1/2 t minced ginger,pinch of black pepper, and 1T ground chili paste in a zip lock bag. My wings were still a little bit frozen, so I microwaved them in the bag at 2% power for 3 minutes.I skipped the step of spraying the baking sheet, because I didn't use flour, just used parchment paper. Baked them for 30 min on each side. I made the glaze as per the recipe,awesome,awesome wings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great recipe...we love extra spicy so added lots of cayenne and red pepper flakes. Used parchment paper instead of foil and had zero problem with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Tastes amazing I didn't have fresh ginger so I used ginger powder, even with that substitution the recipe was amazing so I could only imagine how amazing they will be next time we make them with fresh ginger, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maspeth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
We loved these! My DH and I couldn't believe they were baked, not fried! I'm going to try this cooking method with other sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misterbillio
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This recipe is THE best wing recipe I have ever had! I'm making them again, now, as I am writing this review. My only recommendation would be to douse your wings heavily in cooking spray, otherwise the WILL stick to the tin foil. The only other very subtle changes that I made to this recipe was using peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil when coating the wings the first time (i.e. before tossing them in flour) and about 1 tbsp of lemon juice. Then, for the glaze, I added about 1 tbsp of Worcestershire, and I nearly doubled the ginger and garlic. The recipe is amazing as is, though - I always have to fiddle with recipes a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterbillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This wing sauce is a great way to add variety to a get together. I hosted a get together where I featured several different chicken wing recipes and beside the standard buffalo style this was the next sauce that was raved about. It has a sweet and savory flavor that is completely different than the tang of the buffalo style. I really recommend trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFreicook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States