Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by healthyeating
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These wings were beautiful looking and perfect for guests. Really easy to make. Mine did not stick to the pan, but I also used a lot of vegetable spray. I also used dried garlic pieces and some ginger powder in the glaze since that's what I had. I put some extra garlic powder in the flour as well. To make them look great, let the glaze boil and throw the wings in the pan while it boils, a few at a time, so that the glaze coats the wings. This does not take long - 3 minutes or so. I also put the wings back in the oven for five minutes to kind of seal the sauce in, but this is really not necessary. If you do this, you will have Showpiece wings. I have made these three times now and people raved over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Made these wings today and I did add a bit more flour. Made sure my pan was coated well with the spray and had no sticking problems. I also added more garlic as we are garlic lovers. We liked the sweet and heat taste. I will definitely make these wings again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Weatherhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The wings are very tasty, but visual appeal is not there. I spayed foil but when turning they stuck and fell apart. I also eliminated the Asian Chili pepper for a milder taste. I will try again but will use a rack for cooking wings and hopefully avoid the turning. PS: may need a bit more flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbyoftville

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I just made Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings for the first time. Based on the reviews which said that the recipe is a bit bland I used the following ingredients for the glaze: 5 crushed garlic cloves rather than 3 4 tablespoons of ginger (there was no fresh ginger in the grocery store so I used ginger from the seasonings aisle 3 tablespoons of Asian chili pepper sauce 1/2 cup rice vinegar 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 2 tablespoons soy sauce The recipe says to boil the glaze but I did not. Instead I dipped the cooked wings into the glaze and put them back in the oven for 10 minutes. The glaze came out perfectly. When tasted on it's own the glaze has a strong Asian flavor with just a hint of spice. After the glaze is placed on the wings the glaze is flavorful but not very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is how I fitted the recipe to our liking. I used 15 unseparated wings, doused them with cayenne pepper along with the salt, black pepper, oil and hot sauce. Then I added a ton of garlic powder to the flour when shaking the wings. I generously sprayed the aluminum foil-lined baking sheet with nonstick spray and cooked them for 22 minutes. Then I turned them over and cooked another 22 minutes. I then dipped each wing in the sauce and returned it to the baking sheet and the oven for another 5 minutes. Otherwise these would be overcooked and dry if cooked for an hour. For the sauce, I added another clove of garlic and used dried ginger. I decreased the vinegar to 1/3 cup and used regular white vinegar. These changes made the wings spectacular for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made this dish last night, doubled the amount of ginger, and won FIRST PLACE at our Iron Chef: Ginger Battle party... The sauce for these wings is tangy and delicious, and we couldn't put them down until they were all gone! I used 7.5 lbs of wings for the party, and doubled the sauce to ensure I had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hueytown, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very simple appetizer with easy cleanup. I doubled the garlic and ginger - to taste. Totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I may have reviewed this the first time I tried it, but now I have to say these are our favorite wings ever! Daughter came home to visit and she gave big thumbs up also. Chef John, you're the bomb! And the sauce for this would be great on anything-- thinking of trying it on shrimp soon. I don't even want to dispose of extra sauce, I save it for other uses. I follow the recipe exactly except a bit more garlic and more Siracha for heat, just a personal tweek. I make double the sauce to make it easier to coat chicken and I have found the step to coat with sauce and place on tray a few minutes helps sauce to penetrate but keep the crunchy crust. Super yum! This will be my Super Bowl contribution this year. Thanks, Chef John! We love all your dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Photo by Misterbillio
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This recipe is THE best wing recipe I have ever had! I'm making them again, now, as I am writing this review. My only recommendation would be to douse your wings heavily in cooking spray, otherwise the WILL stick to the tin foil. The only other very subtle changes that I made to this recipe was using peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil when coating the wings the first time (i.e. before tossing them in flour) and about 1 tbsp of lemon juice. Then, for the glaze, I added about 1 tbsp of Worcestershire, and I nearly doubled the ginger and garlic. The recipe is amazing as is, though - I always have to fiddle with recipes a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterbillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I haven't made these yet, but suggest not using a garbage bag for the shaking portion--they're treated with insecticide...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States