Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Loved em. A nice kick with great sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made this dish last night, doubled the amount of ginger, and won FIRST PLACE at our Iron Chef: Ginger Battle party... The sauce for these wings is tangy and delicious, and we couldn't put them down until they were all gone! I used 7.5 lbs of wings for the party, and doubled the sauce to ensure I had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hueytown, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Terrific! I added a bit more garlic and soy sauce to the glaze. Will certainly make this again. Thank you John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
These are so very easy to make and over the top yummy! What a brilliant way to prepare chicken wings without frying them. The texture (crispy outside and tender and juicy inside) is exactly what I have been trying to achieve with oven baked wings. This has changed the way I do wings from this point forward! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
So delicious! It feels so healthy to eat since it's not fried. I use less flour since I don't like all of the coating. I have tried multiple ways to make buffalo wings and this is the best receipe with a yummy sauce that can be used for other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
made this last week..getting such high reviews from this family..good enough to be made in a restaurant...requesting more for tonight..yum yum..thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is how I fitted the recipe to our liking. I used 15 unseparated wings, doused them with cayenne pepper along with the salt, black pepper, oil and hot sauce. Then I added a ton of garlic powder to the flour when shaking the wings. I generously sprayed the aluminum foil-lined baking sheet with nonstick spray and cooked them for 22 minutes. Then I turned them over and cooked another 22 minutes. I then dipped each wing in the sauce and returned it to the baking sheet and the oven for another 5 minutes. Otherwise these would be overcooked and dry if cooked for an hour. For the sauce, I added another clove of garlic and used dried ginger. I decreased the vinegar to 1/3 cup and used regular white vinegar. These changes made the wings spectacular for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
these are superb! I just wanted to try it out and ended up making way too little for us. I will so make this again, it's quick and painless :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I just made Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings for the first time. Based on the reviews which said that the recipe is a bit bland I used the following ingredients for the glaze: 5 crushed garlic cloves rather than 3 4 tablespoons of ginger (there was no fresh ginger in the grocery store so I used ginger from the seasonings aisle 3 tablespoons of Asian chili pepper sauce 1/2 cup rice vinegar 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 2 tablespoons soy sauce The recipe says to boil the glaze but I did not. Instead I dipped the cooked wings into the glaze and put them back in the oven for 10 minutes. The glaze came out perfectly. When tasted on it's own the glaze has a strong Asian flavor with just a hint of spice. After the glaze is placed on the wings the glaze is flavorful but not very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Just another fantastic recipe from Chef John. It was easy to make. For those who had problems with their chicken sticking to the pan here is some advice. First off make sure your chicken is well coated with the flour. I put 1.5 cups of flour because I would rather have too much flour then not enough. Second spray your pans very well it will help when you turn your chicken over. This recipe was delicious. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States