Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by healthyeating
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These wings were beautiful looking and perfect for guests. Really easy to make. Mine did not stick to the pan, but I also used a lot of vegetable spray. I also used dried garlic pieces and some ginger powder in the glaze since that's what I had. I put some extra garlic powder in the flour as well. To make them look great, let the glaze boil and throw the wings in the pan while it boils, a few at a time, so that the glaze coats the wings. This does not take long - 3 minutes or so. I also put the wings back in the oven for five minutes to kind of seal the sauce in, but this is really not necessary. If you do this, you will have Showpiece wings. I have made these three times now and people raved over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were FANTASTIC. Took a little bit of effort, but we devoured them. So crispy and the sauce puts it over the top. We didn't change a thing. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I just made Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings for the first time. Based on the reviews which said that the recipe is a bit bland I used the following ingredients for the glaze: 5 crushed garlic cloves rather than 3 4 tablespoons of ginger (there was no fresh ginger in the grocery store so I used ginger from the seasonings aisle 3 tablespoons of Asian chili pepper sauce 1/2 cup rice vinegar 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 2 tablespoons soy sauce The recipe says to boil the glaze but I did not. Instead I dipped the cooked wings into the glaze and put them back in the oven for 10 minutes. The glaze came out perfectly. When tasted on it's own the glaze has a strong Asian flavor with just a hint of spice. After the glaze is placed on the wings the glaze is flavorful but not very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These were great! I used drumsticks instead of wings but didn't change anything eles. I would have taken a picture but they were gone quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
These are phenomenal wings. Perfect to every detail. If I had a deep-fryer available, that would be the only thing that I would alter from the original recipe. But the oven done wings are still awesome! The only thing I changed, was to add a little extra brown sugar to make them even stickier. My boyfriend stood over the oven when they came out, and couldn't be dragged away. Perfect combination of flavor profiles .Kudos to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very simple appetizer with easy cleanup. I doubled the garlic and ginger - to taste. Totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Delicious - whole family loved them! Only thing is that we omitted the hot sauce as we tend not to eat spicy foods. This was due to personal preference but loved it just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chunkymonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I make em for my wife all the time and she loves it. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Best Baked Wing recipe I have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Just another fantastic recipe from Chef John. It was easy to make. For those who had problems with their chicken sticking to the pan here is some advice. First off make sure your chicken is well coated with the flour. I put 1.5 cups of flour because I would rather have too much flour then not enough. Second spray your pans very well it will help when you turn your chicken over. This recipe was delicious. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States