Garlic Delicata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe was not too bad. I was hoping for more flavor, despite the fact that I used 3 times as much garlic than the recipe called for (1 delicata squash, 3 cloves garlic) but I would be willing to try this recipe again if I tweaked it a little. Then again, this recipe was the first time I'd ever cooked or eaten delicata squash so maybe I'm just not a fan of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I just bought Delicata squash prior to seeing this recipe. I was at an orchard that sells apples, pumpkins, gourds and the like. They had signs up giving suggested cooking methods and the Delicata one stated that it had a thin skin and did not require peeling. I am going to give it a whirl that way. I grow, parsley, sage, and yes, rosemary and thyme, so I'll decide tomorrow which I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used one unpeeled delicata squash. The skin is tender and edible when it's roasted in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
It was super yummy and I don't really like squash or pumpkins. I went with rosemary instead of parsley and used lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
A really great side dish. Easy to make. Because of my family's tastes I increased the garlic to 7 cloves and switched the parsley to chives. Garlic came out nice and crispy which added a crunch to the smooth texture of the squash. Saved the seeds for planting of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I had never had delicata, or most squashes for that matter, but this was pretty good and healthy. I only roasted one, but used the 3 smashed garlic cloves and salt & pepper. (We like bold flavors, some might not like it.) I was out of fresh herbs, dried parsley worked well. I will treat this like roasted potatoes and get creative with the herbs & seasonings. Thanks Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicata is definitely my new favorite squash after cooking this (and this is from a non-squash lover). For our small family, I made only one squash, used 2 T of the olive oil, 3 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), a good amount of the parsley, and added sea salt and black pepper to taste. I roasted mine in a cast iron pan, stirred twice during cooking, and pulled it out when it was golden brown on the sides, which was at about 25 minutes. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
We loved it. That is my husband and me, not my teenage daughter. This was my first time having Delicata squash. My new favorite squash. I only used 1 squash and 1 garlic clove. Will be making it with 2 squashes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is sooo good and relatively easy to make! Since discovering it just a few years ago, Delicata has become a favorite "winter" squash for hubs and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe turned out just okay for me. I think someone else mentioned that it just tasted like all the ingredients mixed together, and I agree. Nonetheless, it's not really anything to complain about, just nothing to rave about either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States