Garlic Cucumber Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I used an english cucumber for this recipe and to keep the dip from being watery, once finely chopped, I sprinkled a bit of salt on the cucs, placed in a colander and weighted it with a can of peas to help drain out the liquid. Left it in the fridge for a couple of hours and then proceeded with the dish. Refreshing and very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This dip was very good...be sure to salt the diced cucumber and let it sit a while to draw out the water first or you will have a runny dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT FOR ANY EVENT. I HAVE FOUND THAT IF YOU USE PITA BREAD (GLAZED IN OLIVE OIL AND GARLIC SALT & BROWNED) AS YOUR "DIPPING AIDE" IT REALLY GOES WELL WITH THE DIP. I HAVE OFTEN USED A CAN OF SALMON THAT I FRY IN A PAN, TO ADD TO THE DIP! ITS DELICIOUS AND ALWAYS A GUEST FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love this dip! Instead of using sour cream, I use a full brick of cream cheese. I make it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This is a very refreshing recipe. I did add a little fresh lemon juice and used green onion to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Loved this, as did my Mothers Day company....used reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream. I also roasted a head of garlic and the whole head instead of the raw garlic for this dip. The flavors were fantastic. I also used 1/2 of an English cucumber to reduce the amount of liquid and drained it as well. I did double the recipe and served with melba toast, sesame bread sticks and baked tostitos. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
everyone at our Homeschool co-op LOVED this only thing different I did was add about 1/4 cup of feta and 8 oz of cream cheese and a dollop more of sour cream. Enjoy it's good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used a whole large cucumber and quadrupled the garlic. Because I had a little to use, I used chopped green onion as the onion in this recipe. This was good with the Garlic Pita Bread Bites, the bites were already seasoned so I didn't need to worry about the dip being seasoned. They went really well together. There's only about a half cup of dip left out of the whole bowl......maybe. Next time, I might add even more cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This dip was pretty good. I think if I make it next time, I will onlly use 1/4 of a cucumber and seed it as well. The cucumber seemed to make the dip watery. I ended up adding more cream cheese to make it thick again. It was a good base though, a change from my usual ranch dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
wow this is amazing, i love dips and this is similar to tzatziki. i seeded and salted my cucumber so the dip wouldnt water down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States