Garlic Cucumber Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I used an english cucumber for this recipe and to keep the dip from being watery, once finely chopped, I sprinkled a bit of salt on the cucs, placed in a colander and weighted it with a can of peas to help drain out the liquid. Left it in the fridge for a couple of hours and then proceeded with the dish. Refreshing and very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This dip was very good...be sure to salt the diced cucumber and let it sit a while to draw out the water first or you will have a runny dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT FOR ANY EVENT. I HAVE FOUND THAT IF YOU USE PITA BREAD (GLAZED IN OLIVE OIL AND GARLIC SALT & BROWNED) AS YOUR "DIPPING AIDE" IT REALLY GOES WELL WITH THE DIP. I HAVE OFTEN USED A CAN OF SALMON THAT I FRY IN A PAN, TO ADD TO THE DIP! ITS DELICIOUS AND ALWAYS A GUEST FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love this dip! Instead of using sour cream, I use a full brick of cream cheese. I make it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This is a very refreshing recipe. I did add a little fresh lemon juice and used green onion to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Loved this, as did my Mothers Day company....used reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream. I also roasted a head of garlic and the whole head instead of the raw garlic for this dip. The flavors were fantastic. I also used 1/2 of an English cucumber to reduce the amount of liquid and drained it as well. I did double the recipe and served with melba toast, sesame bread sticks and baked tostitos. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
everyone at our Homeschool co-op LOVED this only thing different I did was add about 1/4 cup of feta and 8 oz of cream cheese and a dollop more of sour cream. Enjoy it's good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used a whole large cucumber and quadrupled the garlic. Because I had a little to use, I used chopped green onion as the onion in this recipe. This was good with the Garlic Pita Bread Bites, the bites were already seasoned so I didn't need to worry about the dip being seasoned. They went really well together. There's only about a half cup of dip left out of the whole bowl......maybe. Next time, I might add even more cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This dip was pretty good. I think if I make it next time, I will onlly use 1/4 of a cucumber and seed it as well. The cucumber seemed to make the dip watery. I ended up adding more cream cheese to make it thick again. It was a good base though, a change from my usual ranch dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
wow this is amazing, i love dips and this is similar to tzatziki. i seeded and salted my cucumber so the dip wouldnt water down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States