Garlic Creamed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I have a funny story about this recipe...I found it on my very first visit to allrecipes.com a few years ago when I first got married and was trying to learn to cook. I "scaled down" the number of servings from 9 to 4...very handy tool, I might add. When this recipe is scaled down to make 4 servings, it says to add 7/8 of a clove of garlic. Well, I misunderstood that and added 7 or eight cloves of garlic to the dish. I love a lot of garlic, so I didn't mind it, but my poor hubby had to try to choke it down not to hurt my feelings! I ended up throwing out the plastic container I'd stored the leftovers in because I couldn't get the garlic smell out of it. I have made the dish since and we love it...now I put 2 whole cloves in for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I made a few changes to this to make it my own. I cut chicken into chunks and browned in butter in a skillet. I mixed the soup, sour cream, and cream cheese together with about 1/4 c. white wine and 1 tsp. garlic & herb seasoning. Poured into skillet, covered, and simmered while my rice cooked. I also doubled the garlic. Wow, this was yummy, and my boyfriend said it was definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
The chicken in this dish is very forgettable, the sauce however, is to die for. It is rich and creamy and goes perfect over noodles. I made the same amount of sauce for two chicken breasts and boy am I glad that I did. I have a few additional changes I will make next time though. First, I would cube and brown the chicken first. It is a little anemic as is. I will also try adding some parsley or paprika to give the sauce a little color. This dish, will however get made again. I even used low fat cream of mushroom and fat free cream cheese and am still giving it this rave review. You really need to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I totally messed with this recipe. Used only 1 lb chicken, cream of chicken instead of mushroom, added a can of mushrooms, a couple of diced carrots, some green pepper and extra garlic. Served it over biscuits. Yum! Next time, I'll add corn, peas, or what ever else I have around. It would be great with asparagus or broccoli. Just add the veggies, raw, into the sauce before you pour it over the chicken. Fabulous. Can't wait to eat the left overs tomorrow...maybe over egg noodles this time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This recipe carries the distinction of being the easiest cream sauces I've ever made. Nothing but rave reviews from family and guests. For a carry-out dinner, I grilled the chicken on a George Foreman grill,cut it into strips. I mixed and heated the sauce in the microwave, kept the sauce in a separate container, and served with penne pasta mixed with steamed veggies. Everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I made this recipe as written (I did double the garlic though) and served it with rice. My family thought this was good, as did I. But, I think it's missing something. I think I'll make it again, but will try adding broccoli. It needs another depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This dish is even better if you add a (up to) a packet of Dry Italian Salad Dressing mix to the chicken while it cooks. This is too easy in the crock pot also. Just add the crm chz at the end. The dressing mix will give it the flavor reviews said it is missing. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is such an easy recipe. I've made it a bunch of times, even forgot to use sour cream once, it was still great. Just a tip, microwave the cream cheese for about 30 seconds, it will soften and its much easier to mix into the mushroom soup. Personally though, little bits of cream cheese don't bother me, but softened cream cheese is much easier to work with. And of course, double the garlic! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
The whole family enjoyed! My 5 year old loved it! I did change a couple things. I doubled the garlic. I put some chicken seasoning and sprinkled about 1/2 grated parmesan cheese over chicken before pouring on sauce. I also covered about 1/2 through baking since sauce seemed a little thick. Next time I will add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of chix broth or white wine to sauce mixture. Will definatley make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Very good, I thought, and Dh *loved* it. In order to lighten up the fat and calorie content, I used the "healthy" cream of mushroom soup, light sour cream, and 1/3 less cream cheese. I can't compare it to the original recipe, obviously, but it turned out great and I won't change a thing the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States