Garlic Creamed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
First I cut up chicken in chunks and sauteed in olive oil. Then I added soup. cream cheese and soup (doubled it for my family) Thought this sounded like a "no brainer". It had NO FLAVOR at all. Added 6 slices provolone cheese, 1/2 cup sherry, parsley. pepper, lawrey's seasoning salt, more sherry......then decided to add a bag of mixed veggies (pre-cooked). Had to keep tweaking! Not a very flavorful dish! Ended up tasting OK, but had to really add stuff! Served over noodles. Too much FAT for too little flavor! Easier recipes without the fat! No one in my family wanted again. PS....added a TON of garlic...still not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This dish was wonderful. I WILL be making this agin! The only thing I did per the suggestions of others was to add some milk to the sauce and since I love garlic I used 4 cloves. I also browned the chicken before adding it to the sauce and then baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM ROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
It was good but a little too creamy. Next time I would probably add some green onion, celery & more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB82

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
pretty good; next time i'll probably reduce the sour cream a bit. it was just a tad bit too zippy for me but very easy and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
A base recipe. I doubled the garlic and added a generous splash of white wine, tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, and a tblsp. mixed dried pepper flakes. Next time I think I would add some diced onion and saute it with the chicken and garlc first in a little olive oil and butter. And spray the dish with Pam for easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this kind of as a last minute-I'm broke and cleaning out the cupboards/fridge/pantry dinner. It's a good base recipe, but it needs a little help. I doubled the amount of chicken, used Healthy Request cream of chicken (I found this in the way back of my cupboard), reduced fat sour cream and reduced fat cream cheese. Before making this, I did read through some of the reviews and decided to brown the meat before adding it to the sauce and I also sauteed half of an onion with the garlic in a little of the leftover EVOO from browning the chicken. I added a big glug of dry white wine to thin out the sauce a bit and sprinkled in some homemade italian seasoning. I'm glad I read through the reviews because I don't think it would have been AS good if I hadn't. Plus, it would have been way too much sauce and not enough meat for my boys if I hadn't added more. I served this with whole wheat angel hair pasta and steamed broccoli. This recipe saved my behind and helped me rid my cupboard of one more canned soup. My boys inhaled this. NOTE: I think this would make a good filling for Chicken/Turkey Pot Pie, if it was thinned down a bit with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wonderful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed other reviews, and I seasoned and browned my chicken first. I also added a little milk to the sauce to stretch it. The next time I make it (and there will definitely be a next time!!), I would add some seasoning to the sauce because it needed an extra "kick". Maybe onion salt or Ms. Dash onion and herb? Another thing I would do differently, if you are like me, and you like your food drenched in sauce, leave the the amount of chicken the same, but double the sauce. There wasn't enough "extra" sauce to cover my rice! Overall, I would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I made this on the stovetop in a large skillet instead of baking. The sauce was very tasty, but the chicken was pretty bland. I think next time I will season and grill the chicken beasts before slicing and adding to the sauce for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I added a can of peas to this recipe and it was delicious. My only change for next time is to brown the chicken before placing in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Sorrentino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States