Garlic Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Skip the adobe seasoning and kick it old school with onion power, rosemary, and thyme. I've made this twice and I always keep it covered with foil the whole time. Toss in a garlic salt in the end. Comes out tender and flavorful without being too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
The recipe sounds so simple but it was really delicious. The potatoes at the bottom soak up all the flavor that drips off and out of the chicken so be careful not to over-season them or they will become salty. You can also add onions to the pot but these also add to the saltiness so balance out the spices if you use it. Don't be afraid of adobo, when cooked it is not as salty as assumed. They meal went perfect with plain white rice. And the kid's practically licked the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I attempted this recipe with a few of my own tweaks. I didn't have adobo seasoning so I used cayenne pepper, garlic powder, cumin, salt, pepper and oregeno. It was tasty but very greasy. I prefer my potatoes crispy. I'm going to try it without the skin and less oil. Otherwise very tasty and my children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was great i did it this saturday and the potatos were very soft, my chicken didnt get very brown but is was great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I thought this was bland as well. I added some of my own spices to help and it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
i am being optimistic,i changed it a bit .i used poultry seasoning,garlic salt,and parmansen seasoning.instead of adodo seasoning and garlic cloves.oh and i used olive oil spray so i dont know how it turns out...hopefully good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I should have listened to the other reviews. This was way to salty and oily!!!! I cook with adobo and olive oil all the time but never expected this to turn out the way it did. Sorry... but I will never try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I just tried this recipe today and it was pretty good. The only issue is that it was waaaay too salty. Next time I cook this dish, I'm going to use half the Adobo and it'll be a five star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
REally too salty and greasy. Sorry! I would take off the skin and that way you cut back on the grease and the seasoning that you do use is right on the meat. Tried it that way and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
The potatoes had great flavor. I only used 4 instead of 6 and it was very oliy. Next time I will cut back on the oil. I used the adobo with caution due to the other ratings but next time I will go with what the recipe stated. My chicken could of had more flavor. All in all this is a great easy recipe. I trust that next time I make it, it will be perfect. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States