Garlic Chicken with Orzo Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is easily moved up to five stars with a few simple changes. First, yes, yes yes, cook the orzo in chicken broth for much better flavor. Also, I only use 1 tablespoon oil for sauteing the garlic and chicken and I add a sliced onion while I'm at it. I love the spinach in this dish, but it would work just as well with some pre-steamed broccoli, peas or diced tomatoes. This is just such a yummy dish that begs for you to be creative and make it a little different each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is a great combination of flavors and textures, and healthy! The orzo pasta makes this VERY kid friendly. I usually toast the pasta for a few minutes in a dry skillet prior to cooking in boiling water, adds a little nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Very nice! I upped the garlic to 4 cloves, and added 1/4 of a preserved lemon to the chicken toward the end of the sauteeing, I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Beer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I loved all the ingredients; but very very bland. This was a dish I made because I had everything on hand; but I had to add way more seasoning, garlic, etc. It was just a very bland dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Churchill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This recipe was great, I didn't see the suggestion about boiling it in chicken broth until after my orzo was in the water. I added some chicken boulion into the boiling water in the last 4 minutes of cooking and it tasted great. I will definitely keep this in my "need a meal quick" recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My husband and I love veggies and frequently add in some sliced carrots, broccoli, and whatever else we happen to have on hand. I like to add a splash of dry white wine after the garlic and red pepper have been browned. It's a great side dish if you leave out the chicken or it can be a nice and light summer meal with grilled chicken or fried fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
this, was very good but i only gave it four stars because i think it would have been sort of blah without the additions that i made.the amount of chicken is sort of vague, so i used an 11-oz. breast. i added a red and an orange bell pepper, cubed, some thickly sliced mushrooms, and doubled the spinach. following the advice of another reviewer, i cooked the orzo in broth until it was creamy, and i covered the pot after adding the spinach to help wilt all the extra spinach. it was very colorful, with lots of complimentary tastes and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
i replaced the orzo noodles bow tie ones only because my local store didn't have them, but it turned out great! A little spicy for my husband. But we both loved the taste. Awesome dish. Will be making it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john_lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I thought this was good, but a little bland (I did cook the orzo in chicken broth), but my husband loved it. He is SUPER picky, so anything he likes is good in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is one of my go-to recipes and one of my husbands favorites! I usually add extra spinach and leave out the parsley. I also use chicken broth to cook the orzo in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States