Garlic Chicken with Orzo Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Like this a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Voorheesville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Made the recipe as is, with the exception of cooking the orzo in chicken broth. It was a huge hit with the teenage kids! I will definitely make again, and will try some alterations that have been suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this last night and it was great! I also cooked the orzo in broth since that makes it taste much better. My husband and I liked the little bit of kick from the red pepper. I also like that the recipe is easy to change up (add different ingredients) so I can see myself making this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I cooked the orzo in low-sodium chicken broth, used roughly 3 cloves of garlic (1 regular clove and 1 enormous clove, so more than 2), but I am just not real impressed with this recipe. I added Italian seasoning and the parmesan cheese and that helped, but still not an amazing recipe....Bummer. I'm sure I could tweak it a bunch and make it better, but I'd rather work with a recipe that has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe! I also added tomatoes but I would have given it 5 stars without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Amazing delicious flavorful. I cooked the orzo in chicken broth. I used 4 cloves of FRESH PRESSED garlic. I used a 1/2 T of red pepper flakes and about 1/2 C of olive oil and sizzled the garlic til fragrant and added 4 portions of vaccuum-sealed Pollock from the freezer aisle and cooked until done. Right before adding the spinach, I added 1T of fresh basil. Then I added the 2C of washed spinach and kale mixed (you MUST try this variant also!!). I let the spinach wilt and timed the orzo to be added at the moment the spinach wilts (less than 5 minutes will do the trick). Add the 1C of cooked orzo (makes a bunch) and you have a main course for 4. Topped it with fresh grated parmesan and MORE grated fresh pepper. So amazing, I don't think a single piece of orzo was left. I wish I had bread or salad but this was just FINE as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I felt like it was bland (though I did accidentally use too much orzo!) so I added a can of Rotel tomatoes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharB26350
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe as is and modifying it also. I think next time I will add the spinach before the orzo though. And the time after that, I will add some chicken stock, double the pepper flakes & garlic (we like spicy) and steam some broccoli and/or asparagus. Any veggie will do! Thank so much, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is a favorite for our entire family, including two toddlers. It also lends itself very easily to modifications depending on tastes. Our favorite way to do it is to cook the orzo in low sodium chicken broth, we use leftover chicken which we previously seasoned and smoked so we don't add any salt, and we substitute 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables for the spinach. It is an EASY, FAST weeknight dinner that everyone loves and gets our kids to eat their veggies. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Bs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this two nights ago for dinner. I want to say I made it exactly as written but I would be lying. I followed the reviewers suggestions and added a can of diced tomatoes (along with the fresh spinach - this mom does what ever it takes to get her kids to eat their veggies!) and cooked the orzo in 2 cans of low sodium chicken broth, which I didn't drain because the orzo sucked all the broth right up. I also only had whole wheat orzo so that is what I used. I finished up the recipe as directed. The results? A very flavorful and deliciously healthy recipe that my entire family loved. My husband surprised me the most, he loved it and requested we have it again soon and he is not into healthy foods at all. I will probably continue to make it with those modifications because my family enjoys it and that is all I can ask! A really great base recipe though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animeflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States