Garlic Chicken Sausage and Summer Vegetable Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is very good! My husband loved it and ate every last bit. He commented on how much he loved the balsamic addition and he doesn't normally like vinegar. The combination of flavors is was a hit! It's a very flavorful dish and I didn't have to add any extra spices or seasing. I used a wok like I was making stir fry. Followed the cooking directions to a tee except I made a few changes just based on personal preference. I used olive oil instead of garlic oil (because I didn't want to buy any) and just added minced garlic to the onion/pepper mixture. I used baby bellas instead of white button mushrooms and red pepper instead of yellow pepper. Also, I fried the polenta slices in olive oil instead of microwaving to give them a nice, crispy texture on the outside. I would definitely make this again and will likely make it for company. Very, very tasty, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I upped the veggie amounts and threw in some shredded carrots and eggplant instead of yellow pepper. Really tasty. I oven roasted the eggplant and zucchini and grilled the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This was amazing! I feel guilty to review it though because I know it was posted by the makers of that brand sausage but I didn't use that, I actually used kielbasa because it's what I had. I never had polenta so I made my own with sundried tomatoes and garlic added - then I broiled it brushed with olive oil to be crisp. Everything else was per the recipe and the flavors were amazing. My son didn't care for the polenta but my fussy husband didn't mind it because the flavor of the sausage & veggie part was so delicious. Oh ya, I did use a zucchini but I also added a summer squash as well. And I put the rest of the sundried tomatoes in with the sausage & vegetables. Definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
excellent, tasty, colorful, and healthy! I grilled the veggies (used a green and red bell pepper instead of yellow) in a little oil, then combined with the grilled and sliced sausage adding the seasoning and vinegar (which I don't normally like but thought it was excellent on this recipe. I never measure so I probably used a light hand when pouring, maybe it wasn't 2 TBLs) I also grilled the polenta slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very tasty - didn't have zucchini so used more mushrooms and onion. Sauted polenta in a little olive oil which made it crispy on the outside, creamy inside. Next time will put in sausage together with the onions and peppers and leave out the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I was going to make my own polenta since it is cheeper and fairly easy to make. I forgot this when I started to make dinner tonight and I began cooking quinoa. By the time I got to the polenta part, the quinoa was almost done, so I skipped it. I also forgot the balsamic, but it was still good without it. Next time, I will remember to read the directions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good...used rice instead of polenta. Also, used chicken sausage flavored with jalapeno and apples...the flavoring and vegetables were excellent and the balsalmic vinegar added a wonderful punch of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this today & I have to say that I have become a fan of Al Fresco Chicken Sausages.. It was really good. I used red bells instead. I thought it gave it more color & was cheaper. I also used the Al Fresco Dried Tomato & Basil Sausages. Never found the garlic type. Then I served it on dried tomato polenta & paired it with fresh roasted asparagus & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is a keeper! My store does not carry the garlic chicken sausage, so i used the Sundried Tomato. I also served it over rice instead of polenta. Everyone loved it and there was nothing left! Will definitely be making again and again. Thanks al fresco!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
What I like most about the Al Fresco recipes is how flexible they are! I had most of the items in the recipe, but I had the spinach and feta sausage, and it still works! Great combination of flavors, things I would not normally combine. I am reminded of Chef Pepin's advice to "use the grocery story as your sous chef", and that is exactly what Al Fresco recipes do. You can have excellent quality food on the table in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States