Garlic Chicken Fried Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I liked this recipe even though I altered it AND messed it up. First, I wanted to make 5 servings so that it would last me more throughout the week but instead of 5 cups of cooked rice I had 5 cups of UNCOOKED rice....I had so much rice at the end that, even though it was still delicious, some of the ingredients and flavoring got a little lost. I'm rating this 4 stars because I feel like the recipe "as is" is very lacking in veggies. Besides increasing the number of servings to 5, I also altered the recipe by adding the following ingredients: red pepper flakes, powdered ginger, chopped asparagus, and sun dried tomatoes. Instead of frozen peas, next time I will use a bag of frozen mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it. Its very simple I cooked it and I'm only 13. The only suggestion I have is that if you r used to chinese food version use more soy sauce. :) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micah King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I loved it and so did picky daughter. Didn't have vinegar and it was still very good. Will be a staple recipe. I did add black pepper and used half of a red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I liked it, but it would be better with corn, and carrots on top of all of the ingredients. Needs more flavor, next time I will use sesame oil and ginger. Also, my family likes to crumble up cooked bacon and mix it in fried rice, will add all of those things next time and I added clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Simple and quick multiple food groups. Could use an egg, but is quite appetizing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Delicious! I added 2 eggs to it and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really good basic recipe, I switched out chicken for tofu and added carrots and corn... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe was an excellent variation of fried rice using brown rice. I left out the rice wine vinegar as I already knew I don't care for it in fried rice, I also added a tablespoon of sesame oil in substitution for 1 T. of the vegetable oil (I used sunflower oil for health benefits)...the sesame oil makes this taste more like a restaurant-style fried rice. Easily customizable, I only took one star away because I feel it would have been very bland without the sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This recipe is the besssst ever for garlic chicken fried rice. I've made over and over again and I find no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I loved this and changed it a little. I like Jasmine rice, and used it instead. I also used some poached chicken I already had on hand. I also used seasoned rice vinegar and about 1/2 tsp of sesame oil. I also added a bit of dried ginger for added flavor. I loved it!! Will make again. Just about any meat or shrimp would work with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States