Garlic Chicken Fragrant Rice On a Budget Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this last night to go with my curry chicken dish. It was very easy and had great flavor. I did not use the extra olive oil because I was worried it would be too greasy. So I just used the seseame oil as instructed and it was perfect! It was flavored of roasted garlic and scallions but still subtle enough to go with any dish! Thank you, this will definitely be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Great rice dish, lots of flavor and very easy to make. I did add more garlic when I made it the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was the most flavorful dish I've ever made. I didn't have olive oil, so I substituted it with canola oil. I didn't have chicken bouillion either. I added some saffron for a little coloring and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was an amazing dish for the amount of effort you put into it. It tastes just like Hainanese chicken rice (express style). The house smelled so good while it was cooking because all the ingredients were steaming together. I made the recipe without changes but will probably marinate the chicken in some oyster sauce next time for extra flavor. The rice was awesome as is. Definitely a keeper for a quick dinner option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I wasn't expecting this to be that good, but it was easy. It really surprised me. It was SO good. I used basmati rice because that's all I had. I also added a splash of soy sauce and used chicken broth instead of water and bullion cubes. It tasted like fried rice! I have tried and tried to make fried rice, and it never comes out right. This is the way to do it. Next time I'm going to add some veggies and more soy to make it even more like fried rice. Save a LOT of fat by cutting out the olive oil completely. It is absolutely not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Tastes ok but I did not like the amount of oil. It made it very greasy. It was like having fried rice in a rice cooker. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Sounds yummy and super easy, but stupid question: Is the chicken thigh supposed to be cooked before you put it in the rice cooker, or is it raw when it goes in and cooks with the rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elfie789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was super easy and tasty, though I modified it a bit. Like other reviewers, I omited the olive oil and was glad I did. I doubled the garlic, added half a bunch of green onions and four boneless, skinless chicken thighs (roughly chopped into bite size pieces). I also used chicken broth in place of the water/boullion and added 2 Tbl. soy sauce. Everything cooked perfectly and it tasted great topped with a little chili sauce (sambal oelek) and extra soy sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
my goodness, i think this recipe is amazing! for how simple it is, i'm still shocked that it tastes so good. it has a chinese flavor to it because of the ginger and sesame oil and i think i could eat the whole dish. i left out the chicken because i was using the rice dish as a side to a roasted chicken. next time i'll 1/2 the amount of olive oil. super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i completely eliminated the oilve oil, reduced the sesame oil to 1 tblsp, used 4 chicken thighs and used canned chicken broth instead of water and bouillion cubes. and it was delicious!!! and so easy!!! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States