Garlic Chicken Fragrant Rice On a Budget Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This tasted pretty good, though it is difficult to cook if you have a small rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! This fragrant rice makes a perfect side dish for every main dish. Small changes though... I entirely omitted olive oil since I wasn't looking for "fried" rice. I added frozen corns and peas and the rice looked and tasted much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this exactly the way it was written and it turned out fantastic. Great flavor, wonderful aroma and very easy to make. My 6 and 3 yr old both ate it up! We had parmesan chicken and asparagus and this rice as a side dish. Wife and I had a little white wine. Delicious. When I make it again I plan to cut the olive oil a little, add more garlic and another green onion. Just my personal taste. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i completely eliminated the oilve oil, reduced the sesame oil to 1 tblsp, used 4 chicken thighs and used canned chicken broth instead of water and bouillion cubes. and it was delicious!!! and so easy!!! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
my goodness, i think this recipe is amazing! for how simple it is, i'm still shocked that it tastes so good. it has a chinese flavor to it because of the ginger and sesame oil and i think i could eat the whole dish. i left out the chicken because i was using the rice dish as a side to a roasted chicken. next time i'll 1/2 the amount of olive oil. super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was super easy and tasty, though I modified it a bit. Like other reviewers, I omited the olive oil and was glad I did. I doubled the garlic, added half a bunch of green onions and four boneless, skinless chicken thighs (roughly chopped into bite size pieces). I also used chicken broth in place of the water/boullion and added 2 Tbl. soy sauce. Everything cooked perfectly and it tasted great topped with a little chili sauce (sambal oelek) and extra soy sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Sounds yummy and super easy, but stupid question: Is the chicken thigh supposed to be cooked before you put it in the rice cooker, or is it raw when it goes in and cooks with the rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elfie789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Tastes ok but I did not like the amount of oil. It made it very greasy. It was like having fried rice in a rice cooker. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I wasn't expecting this to be that good, but it was easy. It really surprised me. It was SO good. I used basmati rice because that's all I had. I also added a splash of soy sauce and used chicken broth instead of water and bullion cubes. It tasted like fried rice! I have tried and tried to make fried rice, and it never comes out right. This is the way to do it. Next time I'm going to add some veggies and more soy to make it even more like fried rice. Save a LOT of fat by cutting out the olive oil completely. It is absolutely not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was an amazing dish for the amount of effort you put into it. It tastes just like Hainanese chicken rice (express style). The house smelled so good while it was cooking because all the ingredients were steaming together. I made the recipe without changes but will probably marinate the chicken in some oyster sauce next time for extra flavor. The rice was awesome as is. Definitely a keeper for a quick dinner option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States