Garlic Chicken And Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
We really liked the flavor of this dish. After mixing up the sauce, I couldn't understand why this shouldn't be cooked with the chicken and that is what I did. Just poured on top and then added the sliced grapes before the end of cooking. I am kind of surprised that no on has suggested using a combination of green and red grapes to make the dish more visually pleasing. I did this with good results. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I will admit I was *very* skeptical about the Dijon mustard sauce, as I am not generally a fan of mustard. But this was a most excellent recipe!!! I quartered the grapes (thought the whole grapes wouldn't integrate well at eating time, and I'm glad I did it this way), but other than that, strictly followed the recipe. I don't really understand the comments by those that were disappointed with this recipe, but I guess to each his or her own. I made if for a friend that is on a fat-restricted diet due to MS, and it was a bit hit. Thanks for a great recipe! I have added it to my "repertoire" and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
If you don't want to use the oven (too hot during the summer where I live for that!), here's a stove-top version: Use the sauce as a marinade (including minced garlic - I used four cloves) for four chicken breasts cut into large pieces (I also added a little oil). After marinating for a couple hours, heat a little oil in a pan, and saute chicken and sauce for 25-30 minutes. Add grapes (which I also halved) ten minutes before serving. Serve with rice. I also used balsamic vinegar, and I omitted the seseame seeds for this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Had the girls over for a luncheon and I try to find new, interesting recipes. This one fit the bill, they all loved it and asked for the recipe. When combining sauce ingredients, do it over low heat and whisk to blend. I especially liked the flavor of the toasted sesame seeds and the grapes added an extra dimension, except when you reheat it - don't like hot grapes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I'm sorry. Everyone seems to like this recipe but I hated it. I thought the sauce was terrible. I think it was the vinegar I didn't like. My family liked it though. I served it with white rice and peas. I liked the first few bites then I had to really choke the rest down. After I realized I didn't like the sauce, I tried to add a few more spices (garlic salt, onion powder, oregano, a little of the chicken broth) and a little flour to thicken it up a bit. It was OK at best to me, but as I said, the rest of the family liked it. None of us cared for the cooked grapes, however. Not the worst I've ever had, but I think if I ever make this again I will omit the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This recipe turned out great! Following advice from others, I added the sauce 5 minutes before adding the grapes, except I added all of it! It baked in giving a wonderful taste to the chicken. As well, for added texture, I added sliced mushrooms and onions when I flipped the chicken over. My wife and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This recipe is easy, unique, and tasty. I used 6 chicken breasts and 1 cup of quartered grapes. Poured a small amount of sauce on the breasts for the last 5 mins of baking and left the rest to taste. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Great twist on Chicken recipes. The grapes sounded somewhat questionable, but I went ahead with them only slicing them in half. Surprise! What a great accompaniment to the nutty chicken. Most definitely use the sauce. It adds that special touch and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
We loved it BUT I tweaked a little. Instead of honey I used agave syrup, and I doubled the amount of garlic. I also used rice wine vinegar as it is milder. I cooked the chicken with about one third of the sauce and added the rest with the grapes 5 minutes before the end. I used only skinless, boneless breasts and I found they were done in about 20 minutes at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Very Good. I have tried parts aswell as a hole chicken(for company) Teriffic. Will make again. Served this to my inlaws and it was a big hit, my mother inlaw thought I had come up with a great way to serve chicken instead of the same old way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States