Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Hi, haven't tried this recipe yet, but have eaten a similar recipe at one of the restaurants near me. As with anything else, you can always add and delete ingredients to your liking. Here you go, try it you'll Love it. Make grits to thick consistency, use desired cheese or cheeses. Add sautéed mushroom and onions. Lastly they added sliced endouie sausauge. Dish was labeled as a Cajun entrée. It was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
For those on the fence about grits, I must advise using chicken broth to cook them and despite the package claiming that they're quick, be prepared to babysit them a bit and cook slower. The texture is much more appealing. Like others, I had no idea what garlic flavored processed cheese was and after much scouring on the internet have concluded that it is a discontinued product and any substitute can only be remotely found. I do not like Velveeta flavored dishes so in an attempt to duplicate (and a little desperation) the descriptions of this elusive cheese I bought Alouette Garlic & Herbs spreadable cheese and used half the container (3 oz) and about 4 oz shredded cheddar. The flavor was very good. The shrimp mixture is great and wonderful over the grits. Make sure the shrimp are patted dry before cooking. Any excess moisture dilutes the flavor. My rating is based on inclusion of ingredient that seems to no longer exist. My own preferences include adding 1/2 cup of half & half or heavy cream when you add the cheese. Helps texture if you have eaters who are grits shy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I looooved this. I'm from Texas and the grits reminded me of my grandmother. My boyfriend and kids didn't grow up on grits, and didn't like it as much. But I think it was because of the texture of the grits, which is unavoidable. The flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Having had shrimp and grits before (it's not common in Wisconsin, but I travel), this wasn't quite what I was expecting, but it was still really delicious, and super quick to prepare. I think the next time I make this, I'll add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
5 stars. I am very happy with this recipe. The second time I made it, I cooked a few strips of bacon, and then used the same pan with the drippings to saute the garlic, tomato and shrimp. I added the crumbled bacon as a topping. Great flavor. 7/15/14 Update: I now add a little white wine to the shrimp mixture and cook. Adds an extra flavor. A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was delicious, and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I took this dish to a big brunch party and it was everyone's favorite thing on the buffet. I got raves and many went back for seconds. The only change I made was i added about a cup of white wine to the tomato mixture and sprinkled crisp bacon on top once it was assembled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My husband doesn't eat leftovers. I made this recipe (did cook the grits in chicken stock), and we're having the leftovers tomorrow night! Hands down the best shrimp recipe I've ever made! You will love this simple meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is my first time having and cooking shrimp and grits. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dish!! I added this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
When its time to impress this is the dish that stands out from all the rest. I prefer slow cooking grits as opposed to quick cooking. In place of olive oil I always use grape seed oil. The flavor is astounding. Easy recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AussieChic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States