Garlic Cheese Flatbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is awesome! I made this for my Son who loves garlic. My Husband isn't crazy about a lot of garlic, but all three of us could not stop eating it. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I'm rating this recipe on taste and workability. The finished product's taste and texture was wonderful! I added minced garlic to the dough at the very end and dried oregano after putting on the cheeses. My daughter is gobbling it up. The workability of this recipe, however!!!! I threw the ingredients into the bread machine on the pizza dough cycle and when it was done I had a bowl of soup. I needed to add a good cup of flour to make it even remotely workable, and it was still sticky. I also had to scrape the thick layer of residue off my kitchen table. Also, there was way too much butter. Maybe 1/3 cup is necessary if you work with some spreadable ingredient like margarine, but with melted butter, I ended throwing out half of it. While the finished product is soft and delicious, I greatly did not appreciate the inaccurate list of measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Per the review of Toasty Mama Took the advice of several other reviewers and added 6 cloves minced garlic to the dough. Dough was a little sticky and I did add about an additional 1/2 of flour overall to keep it manageable. Also greased pan with olive oil and then sprinkled some cornmeal to keep it from sticking and poked holes in dough. Changed butter spread to 1/2 olive oil, 1/2 butter 1/2 tsp oregano and a clove of garlic and spread on the dough. Then from BATMAN BEYOND's review of Parmesian Foccacia Bread (a bread machine recipe) which suggested chopping a fresh tomato - I used two small ones and some fresh basil as well - and saute in just a little olive oil with some fresh garlic salt. Then sprinkled the tomato mixture over the butter/olive oil spread on the dough. Lastly sprinkle on the parmesian cheese and bake. I used the same temp, but it took about 10 minutes longer to bake and set up in the middle. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Nice recipe! This was my first bread actually..^^.. was really nice.. my family liked it to... thanks for posting this recipe ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made this bread this afternoon and it was quite good. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the bread as well as a little Italian seasoning. I would have liked a more potent garlic flavor (garlic powder would have probably done that--just like the recipe said!). The bread was super easy to make, had a great texture, and we thought it was very yummy. I definitely will be making this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was just okay.. Followed directions exactly. I found it to be rather spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peezeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I have already made this twice since finding the recipe. This is very good and pretty easy to make, especially considering I don't bake that much. I liked the recipe because I already had all the ingredients, but it still turned into something special. I thought it was pretty garlic-y, which I love! I served with jarred marinara for dipping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Booschmoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
4 stars for a great flat bread but I felt this recipe needed more flavor. I made it twice. Both times the dough came out perfect. Someone mentioned that this dough should be a "wet" dough and sticky and not to add more flour. That advice was perfect. I just made sure I had enough flour to roll with and on my hands so it wasn't to hard to work with. The first time I made it I put in 2 cloves of crushed garlic in the dough while kneeding it instead of using the powder and it wasn't enough. It was still a nice flat bread. The 2nd time I added 4 cloves and used about 1tbs of garlic powder and it was more flavorful I also left the cheese off until it was about a minute from being done and I brushed it with butter and then put on the cheese and cooked one minute and took it out of oven and let it melt while it rested. I liked it much better that way, then what the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
(Originally reviewed 25 March 2008 -edited for spelling) I did not have any bread flour, so I simply used 2 cups plain flour and added in 4tsp of vital wheat gluten. In reading the reviews, alot of people noted that the dough was sticky and that they added in extra flour, perhaps they are not aware, but this type of dough is considered a "Batter yeast dough" - this means it will be sticky, and you should NOT add any extra flour, except for perhaps a small sprinkling of flour for the area in which you end up kneading the dough. Instead of plain butter, I used a butter that already had garlic & herbs mixed into it, and then I used fresh grated parmesan, and a 6 italian cheese blend plus additional mozzarella cheese. I also added some garlic powder and italian seasoning into the yeast dough. My husband was impressed, he thought that it was comparable to a foccacia that we normally buy at a local delicatessen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Perfect! I have very little bread baking experience. I followed the directions exactly and the results were great. The garlic is strong, but so good. I want to try this as a pizza dough next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States