Garlic Cheese Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made these biscuits for my husband, who goes to that famous seafood restaurant, even though he doesn't much care for seafood, just for the biscuits. He's absolutely addicted to them. He tried these tonight and said that he thought they were even better than the ones at the restaurant. I did make some slight modifications based on earlier raters' suggestions and on his particular tastes. I doubled the cheese and used the extra aged super sharp cheddar. I mixed the garlic in with the Bisquik & cheese, and then I put parsley and more garlic in the butter and brushed it on both before and after baking. The biscuits turned out *extremely* light, they almost felt like they were going to float right out of my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These really are "lighty, tasty little biscuits"! Not sure if they're just like the ones at Red Lobster, but they sure are good! Plus, they're easy to make which is a big plus. I added the garlic powder to the mix and added some dried parsley. Plus, I brushed them with garlic butter BEFORE and AFTER baking with I think makes a big difference.... If I make these again, I'd make them again that way. Perfect wtih soup or salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Review rating based on the following changes: I melted 1/4 cup butter, added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, dash of salt, and dried parsley flakes, and I used a sharp cheddar cheese. This MAKES the biscuits SO much more like those at Red Lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I absolutely loved the biscuits, at first I was skeptical because the ingredients and recipe seemed so simple, but they were great even my toddler loved them. I didn't know what was meant by "buttermilk baking mix" and used Bisquick. As recommended by other reviews I increased the amount of cheese to 2/3 cup and added the garlic powder to the mix before baking. Thank you Brenda for a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I am a Home Ec teacher, and use this recipe with my 7th graders. They love it and always ask for copies of the recipe to take home! The only modification: I make smaller biscuits with the kids, they cook all the way through and tend not to burn (we get a dozen from the recipe). Kudos to you Brenda - if a couple hundred kids can make this recipe successfully and enjoy the results, it has to be terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Very easy to make! I added a bunch of chopped fresh chives tothe batter and used less butter to cut down on calories! All 12 were eaten in one night by 4 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Well, the bottoms of my biscuits keep burning before they are ready. Does anyone know why this happens? This recipe was good but I had higher expectations due to the rave revues. I am not sure I will try it again. I did put the garlic powder in the batter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
These really do taste like the ones at Red Lobster! They will be a regular at my house from now on! (By the way, I brushed the melted garlic butter on before AND after baking the biscuits.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I suppose it doesn't seem to make sense to rave about a recipe that starts with a baking mix and includes just a couple of other ingredients. I guess maybe it doesn't count that I literally had these mixed up in seconds yet I can't praise them enough. Nor does it make sense that Hubs pretty much turns his nose away from biscuits but loved these and told me so - three times. I agree - it doesn't make sense. But these are excellent. Light, fluffy, and reach-for-seconds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Very easy and tasty...my husband was very pleased with the similarity to the ones we have at Red Lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States