Garlic Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Soooo good! I used a combo of shredded cheddar, bread crumbs, and corn flakes (actually threw in the crumbs from a Cheese-Nip box as well) to create the breading. Also added extra cheese on top. So delicious! It's a constant request in the house. Edit: I've made this so many times and had so much fun playing around with it that I want to share - 1 cup of crackers (Ritz, cornflakes, saltines, cheese-nips, anything!), 1/2c parm chz, 1 1/2c cheddar, 1/2c bread crumbs. I also dip the chicken in flour before the butter to help it stick. This is a great recipe to be adventurous with - do not hesitate to play around!!! Update 2: I've discovered Panko bread crumbs to replace the standard crumbs. WOW! MUCH crispier and gives it that texture that I've noticed a lot of reviews say is missing. No panko... try coursely crushing some croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
923 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
GREAT!! only thing i did differently was to put a thin layer of the bread crumb mixture on the bottom of the baking dish before i put the chicken in. (just to keep the bottom of the chicken from getting soggy) worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
745 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is delicious! I made a few changes. I used half butter, half olive oil. Also used Italian herbed bread crumbs and a variety of Italian seasonings. I didn't have chicken breasts, so I used chicken tenders (still flattened them though). I greased the pan and followed others' suggestions by putting down a thin layer of bread crumbs in the pan before laying down the chicken. The chicken tenders only took 18 minutes to bake, and then, following others' suggestions, I broiled the chicken for another 2 minutes. I HIGHLY recommend broiling the chicken at the end because it gives it a delicious crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
445 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
An acceptable, but rather ordinary chicken recipe--kind of "ho hum." I'm sure I would have been a bigger fan of this when I was still cooking for my kids when they were younger, but as grown-ups we've moved kind of beyond your average Shake and Bake type chicken. I used crushed cornflakes rather than crumbs, and dill for the oregano, but nothing made this chicken "wake up." On the upside, this is a "safe" chicken recipe, as even the pickiest of eaters wouldn't be able to find something not to like here--no unusual spices or blending of flavors. It was a little too buttery, however, so for those who would like to give this recipe a try I might suggest coating the chicken in egg rather than melted butter, and maybe drizzling a little butter over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Note: Use an aluminum/foil pan for this recipe- it keeps the chicken from getting soggy. Also, throw the ingredients into a processor- it blends everything up all nice and makes it easier to coat the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This dish has a fabulous flavor. The chicken was swimming in butter so the next time I prepare I will place it on a roaster rack. I did not pound thin and I baked it for 1 hour 15 minutes and it came out perfect. I didn't use fresh garlic but rather from the jar and I used 4 teaspoons as we are garlic lovers and that was just right for us. I used garlic and herb seasoned bread crumbs. I thought that I could have omitted the salt. I will definitely make this again but I hated that the bread crumbs became soggy in the butter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is a great, tasty and easy chicken dish. I used sharp cheddar cheese in this. I omitted the extra salt and used unsalted butter; as the cheeses are salty enough. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and the proportions were just perfect. I had to bake mine for extra time because my breasts were still partially frozen. I didn't pound them either, and the chicken was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Mmmm! I added a little flour to my breadcrumb mixture to make a nice crispy coating. Also, I didn't add the grated cheese to the dry mixture. I coated my chicken with butter, and then the crumb mixture as directed, and I sprinkled each piece of chicken with cheese so that it was sure to really melt into everything. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Absolutely Excellent!!! I marinated the chicken in Italian dressing for a few hours before preparing the dish. I also used Garlic/Herb breadcrumbs. I did need to bake it longer than 30 minutes though. I baked it for an hour because I was baking potatoes at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe and made it last night for my boyfriend and I. It turned out wonderful!!! The chicken was so moist inside and very flavorful. I used italian bread crumbs since thats what I had on hand, and parmesan/romano cheese mix (Kraft). SOOOO yummy. I sprinkled a little extra cheddar on right at the very end. My boyfriend who isnt a big chicken eater normally, took the leftovers home with him! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States