Garlic Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Soooo good! I used a combo of shredded cheddar, bread crumbs, and corn flakes (actually threw in the crumbs from a Cheese-Nip box as well) to create the breading. Also added extra cheese on top. So delicious! It's a constant request in the house. Edit: I've made this so many times and had so much fun playing around with it that I want to share - 1 cup of crackers (Ritz, cornflakes, saltines, cheese-nips, anything!), 1/2c parm chz, 1 1/2c cheddar, 1/2c bread crumbs. I also dip the chicken in flour before the butter to help it stick. This is a great recipe to be adventurous with - do not hesitate to play around!!! Update 2: I've discovered Panko bread crumbs to replace the standard crumbs. WOW! MUCH crispier and gives it that texture that I've noticed a lot of reviews say is missing. No panko... try coursely crushing some croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
852 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
GREAT!! only thing i did differently was to put a thin layer of the bread crumb mixture on the bottom of the baking dish before i put the chicken in. (just to keep the bottom of the chicken from getting soggy) worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
688 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is delicious! I made a few changes. I used half butter, half olive oil. Also used Italian herbed bread crumbs and a variety of Italian seasonings. I didn't have chicken breasts, so I used chicken tenders (still flattened them though). I greased the pan and followed others' suggestions by putting down a thin layer of bread crumbs in the pan before laying down the chicken. The chicken tenders only took 18 minutes to bake, and then, following others' suggestions, I broiled the chicken for another 2 minutes. I HIGHLY recommend broiling the chicken at the end because it gives it a delicious crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
An acceptable, but rather ordinary chicken recipe--kind of "ho hum." I'm sure I would have been a bigger fan of this when I was still cooking for my kids when they were younger, but as grown-ups we've moved kind of beyond your average Shake and Bake type chicken. I used crushed cornflakes rather than crumbs, and dill for the oregano, but nothing made this chicken "wake up." On the upside, this is a "safe" chicken recipe, as even the pickiest of eaters wouldn't be able to find something not to like here--no unusual spices or blending of flavors. It was a little too buttery, however, so for those who would like to give this recipe a try I might suggest coating the chicken in egg rather than melted butter, and maybe drizzling a little butter over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Note: Use an aluminum/foil pan for this recipe- it keeps the chicken from getting soggy. Also, throw the ingredients into a processor- it blends everything up all nice and makes it easier to coat the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This dish has a fabulous flavor. The chicken was swimming in butter so the next time I prepare I will place it on a roaster rack. I did not pound thin and I baked it for 1 hour 15 minutes and it came out perfect. I didn't use fresh garlic but rather from the jar and I used 4 teaspoons as we are garlic lovers and that was just right for us. I used garlic and herb seasoned bread crumbs. I thought that I could have omitted the salt. I will definitely make this again but I hated that the bread crumbs became soggy in the butter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is a great, tasty and easy chicken dish. I used sharp cheddar cheese in this. I omitted the extra salt and used unsalted butter; as the cheeses are salty enough. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and the proportions were just perfect. I had to bake mine for extra time because my breasts were still partially frozen. I didn't pound them either, and the chicken was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed baby carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Mmmm! I added a little flour to my breadcrumb mixture to make a nice crispy coating. Also, I didn't add the grated cheese to the dry mixture. I coated my chicken with butter, and then the crumb mixture as directed, and I sprinkled each piece of chicken with cheese so that it was sure to really melt into everything. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Absolutely Excellent!!! I marinated the chicken in Italian dressing for a few hours before preparing the dish. I also used Garlic/Herb breadcrumbs. I did need to bake it longer than 30 minutes though. I baked it for an hour because I was baking potatoes at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe and made it last night for my boyfriend and I. It turned out wonderful!!! The chicken was so moist inside and very flavorful. I used italian bread crumbs since thats what I had on hand, and parmesan/romano cheese mix (Kraft). SOOOO yummy. I sprinkled a little extra cheddar on right at the very end. My boyfriend who isnt a big chicken eater normally, took the leftovers home with him! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States