Garlic-Buttered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I should have read the other reviewers' comments. I love butter, but there was way too much on these beans, and I used more than the pound called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made it with fresh garlic and onions as well and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Used fresh mushrooms, sautéed onion. Cut butter to 2 TBS. and used EVOO. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I'm sure this would be good with the onion and garlic powders, but since I had it to use, I substituted fresh minced garlic and shallots. Since I had both asparagus and green beans in the fridge, I made a medley of both. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
My children loved these. Of course for my kids I had to omit the mushrooms. I used yellow beans and they tasted just as good as green beans would have. I also used fresh minced garlic and fresh onions. This recipe missed a star because it calls for powder not fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
We really enjoyed this, even though it was a bit too much butter. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used fresh onion and garlic. Very simple, tasty and elegant-looking. Cutting back on the butter will make it healthy, too - a bonus since I definitely plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These green beans are quick, easy and full of flavor. I used 1 clove of fresh garlic and about a quarter cup of red onion. I skipped the onion and garlic powder and just used salt and pepper. I also used the slender frozen green beans from Trader Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were reeeeeeeeally good.. the only changes I made were I cut up half and onion and used about 2 tsps of chopped garlic, used 2 small cans of mushrooms and 1 large can of green beans~then I followed the recipe to a T. and it is reeeeeeeeeally good thanks for this I will use again and again and again.. I think some crispy bacon would be a fabulous addition to this as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We're not big mushroom fans in our house, so we subbed in some pecans to add some extra flavor. I would have liked to follow some other suggestions and use diced onion and minced garlic instead of the powders, but I didn't have time. It wasn't an issue, because the beans tasted good with the powders anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Very nice dish, but waaaay too much butter; I reduced the amount and it still seemed like fat with a side of vegetables. Will try halving the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States