Garlic Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
YYYUUMM!! I cut the recipe in half, subbed 1 tsp of garlic powder & 1/4 tsp salt for the garlic salt, it was perfect! My 11 year old son told me that it was the best garlic bread he ever had! Next time I will sprinkle the paprika on top instead of mixing it in, like my mom used to! Thanks Denyse!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made 6 pounds of this for a buffet. This garlic butter is perfect, but not for a buffet. The butter tastes too salty to be used as a "spread". It is a recipe for topping french bread for toasting, adding to mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, etc. Many uses, and has a long shelf life. Make some to have on hand. A boost to the ordinary for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This flavorful butter goes with so many things it would be impossible to list them all. I make up triple batches, making them into logs and freezing them. That way they are on hand at a moments notice to put on fish, slip under the skin of chicken, or melt over a New York strip steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I read the other reviews so I figured I was safe in adding a TSP of garlic salt rather than a TBSP. It was still SUPER salty and next time I won't add ANY. The original poster must have used unsalted butter or have no taste buds. I used it to make shrimp and they were edible but I would have liked them HALF as salty. Other than that it tasted really good so it was quite unfortunate. I will give it a try with no added salt at all (garlic powder instead) or unsalted butter next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This mixture is DELICIOUS. I used fresh garlic (not out of the jar!) half of the butter but all of the other ingredients in amounts as as listed. Emeril's Italian Essence, Lawry's Seasoned Pepper, Granulated Garlic, just a teensy bit of salt and sprinkled the Paprika on top of my pre-toasted, butter spread Italian Bread. I do believe this made for the best we've had at home in quite awhile. Going to be keeping the mixture in the fridge to try on potatoes and other things... Thanks, Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I did not use the whole tablespoon of garlic salt--what I did was use a teaspoon of garlic salt and added in two teaspoons of garlic powder (three teaspoons equal one tablespoon). Other than that, I kept to the recipe. I used this as a schmear on the outside of bread to make Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I made a mistake with this recipe by using the entire tablespoon of garlic salt before tasting it. Next time I make I will add the garlic salt a little at a time, it was too salty to make garlic bread with. Although, I did use some on a baked potato today for lunch and it was great that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is great on garlic bread! I didn't have garlic salt which was probably good after reading the reviews, so I used 1 tsp. of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. of salt. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I spread this over half a loaf of italian bread and baked it at 425 for 10-12 minutes. I'd love to try this over steak next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I used margarine and thought the 1 tbsp garlic salt made it way too salty so I cut down to 1 tsp the next time. Much better. I didn't have italian seasoning so I used what I had on hand - 1/4 tsp each of dried basil, oregano and thyme, and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Oh my gosh, I will use this on everything but my morning cereal! This makes the best garlic bread. For the italian seasoning I used Emeril's Italian Essence. Very easy and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States