Garlic Brussels Sprouts with Crispy Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
YUM! I halved the recipe b/c I'm the only one here that likes Brussels sprouts, and that worked out fine. I didn't measure the salt and pepper, just went by taste. Will def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! Our garlic is big and beautiful right now, so I cut the recipe back by 2 cloves and it was almost too much. Apart from the garlic (and a little more chicken broth), I didn't change a thing. My husband and I agree, it tasted even better the next day! In the future, I'll make it ahead so flavors have time to blend more. A definite keeper. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisha
Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this, even the kids!!I used precooked bacon and homemade broth. I skipped the extra salt. I added a dose of crushed red pepper for some heat. Delicious, easy and a bit of a treat with the bacon - something we don't use much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this last Thanksgiving and it was ok. It didn't have the flavor that I was expecting, it tasted just like the regular brussel sprouts I steam and add butter to. I couldn't taste the garlic and the bacon really didn't add anything. Perhaps my fresh brussel sprouts were too "strong" and I needed to add more garlic and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This needs more chicken stock as it cooks off and the garlic burns. The brussel sprouts need to be parboiled. After 15 minutes mine were still really firm and under cooked. The flavors are good, (who doesn't like bacon in anything?). just need an adjustment on the cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am always trying to find new ways to make brussel sprouts so my kids will enjoy them. Well, we made this for Thanksgiving this year and my boys tried it (7 and 11 yrs old) and they loved it and asked that I only serve them like this from now on. Very good recipe and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I never knew Brussels Sprouts could taste this good. My Brussels Sp.- hating-husband absolutely loved these. I changed only the way I cook my sprouts. After cleaning them, cutting an X in the core, I steamed them in a microwave steaming bag. Meanwile, I'd cooked the bacon, and sauteed the garlic in the butter and olive oil. Added a bit of chicken broth to the sauteed garlic, halved the sprouts, stirred them into the butter/oil/broth to re-heat them, served them with the bacon bits and just a drizzle of the bacon grease. This veggie dish was an accompanyment to a Kielbasa ring, and served with a side of buttered toast. I used about a dozen large sprouts. 3 slices of bacon, an guestimated the oil and butter to sautee 2 large garlic cloves. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My guests loved these, even my husband who "hates" brussel sprouts ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have been cooking brussel sprouts this way without the bacon and broth for a few weeks now and loving it. When I found this recipe I decided to try the addition of bacon and broth. Neither one in my opinion enhanced the flavour of the BS in any way. It just tasted like brussel sprouts with a side of bacon and the broth didn't add any flavour that I could taste from cooking them without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States