Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe. It is so simple to make. The only modifications I made were to blanch the broccoli first for the beautiful green color that it brings out, and I also used balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine. It gave it a slightly sweeter taste and very mild acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I LOVED this recipe -- even better than chocolate cake, and I love chocolate cake! I put all the ingredients, sans the broccoli in a food processor until it was like a vinaigrette. Like other reviewers, I used Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine (since it has a bit of sweetness), and I also added 1 tsp. of Honey since I like things sweet. I increased the garlic by 2 cloves. Then, as per other readers, I lightly steamed the broccoli -- for 4 minutes -- and poured the mixture over the broccoli. I added some cubed, (boiled) tofu and put that in the fridge to marinate for 3 hours. I served it over brown rice. This dish is fan-freakin-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe. I was looking for new recipes with fresh broccoli and this is one I will definitely make again. Easy to prepare and excellent flavor. Just make sure you like food with a strong garlic flavor. I forgot to put on the parmesan chhese and still thought it was great! My kids thought the flavor was too strong. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this recipe using half the garlic. I thought it was really good. My husband, who is a picky eater, like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of raw broccoli so I used steamed and cut the amount of oil in half. I think just about any vinegar will do here but I stuck to the recipe. It was a nice change of pace with or without the parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I was looking for a healthy salad that I could make ahead for a party I am giving. I made this with balsamic vinegar and blanched broccoli. I snuck a taste after three hours, and liked it. Once I added the cheese to my testing portion, I was not impressed. The next day when I re-tasted, the broccoli was a very strange color and I did not like the salad at all. Adding the cheese just made matters worse. I would only make this again if I was going to eat it within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum, this was great. I would definitely make again.I used my broccoli raw as stated. I did reduce the salt to just under 1tsp. I also used 1 huge clove of garlic(prob. equal to 3cloves) used cider vinegar because thats what I had. I didnt do the paste thing with the garlic I just put all marinade ingreds in the blender until smooth, then poured over the broc in a ziploc bag. Turned bag every so often. Topped with fresh grated parm. I used grey poupon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I am usually pretty generous when it comes to rating recipes, but I'm not sure why everyone liked this so much. I love broccoli, and the combination of the vinegar, salt and so much raw garlic is extremely salty and not good. I won't be making a recipe like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I blanched the broccoli to bring out the bright green color and then shocked it in an ice bath. I really thought this was going to be a delicious side dish but it turned out to be quite underwhelming. So sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We've been trying to get more raw broccoli in our diet and this recipe has done it for us! FABULOUS, especially if you are a garlic lover. We switched the oil and vinegar amounts (1/4 cup oil, 1/3 cup vinegar) and forgot to add the parmesan at the end, but we are going to have this side on a regular basis. So healthy. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States