Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe. It is so simple to make. The only modifications I made were to blanch the broccoli first for the beautiful green color that it brings out, and I also used balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine. It gave it a slightly sweeter taste and very mild acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I LOVED this recipe -- even better than chocolate cake, and I love chocolate cake! I put all the ingredients, sans the broccoli in a food processor until it was like a vinaigrette. Like other reviewers, I used Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine (since it has a bit of sweetness), and I also added 1 tsp. of Honey since I like things sweet. I increased the garlic by 2 cloves. Then, as per other readers, I lightly steamed the broccoli -- for 4 minutes -- and poured the mixture over the broccoli. I added some cubed, (boiled) tofu and put that in the fridge to marinate for 3 hours. I served it over brown rice. This dish is fan-freakin-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe. I was looking for new recipes with fresh broccoli and this is one I will definitely make again. Easy to prepare and excellent flavor. Just make sure you like food with a strong garlic flavor. I forgot to put on the parmesan chhese and still thought it was great! My kids thought the flavor was too strong. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this recipe using half the garlic. I thought it was really good. My husband, who is a picky eater, like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of raw broccoli so I used steamed and cut the amount of oil in half. I think just about any vinegar will do here but I stuck to the recipe. It was a nice change of pace with or without the parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I was looking for a healthy salad that I could make ahead for a party I am giving. I made this with balsamic vinegar and blanched broccoli. I snuck a taste after three hours, and liked it. Once I added the cheese to my testing portion, I was not impressed. The next day when I re-tasted, the broccoli was a very strange color and I did not like the salad at all. Adding the cheese just made matters worse. I would only make this again if I was going to eat it within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum, this was great. I would definitely make again.I used my broccoli raw as stated. I did reduce the salt to just under 1tsp. I also used 1 huge clove of garlic(prob. equal to 3cloves) used cider vinegar because thats what I had. I didnt do the paste thing with the garlic I just put all marinade ingreds in the blender until smooth, then poured over the broc in a ziploc bag. Turned bag every so often. Topped with fresh grated parm. I used grey poupon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I am usually pretty generous when it comes to rating recipes, but I'm not sure why everyone liked this so much. I love broccoli, and the combination of the vinegar, salt and so much raw garlic is extremely salty and not good. I won't be making a recipe like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I blanched the broccoli to bring out the bright green color and then shocked it in an ice bath. I really thought this was going to be a delicious side dish but it turned out to be quite underwhelming. So sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We've been trying to get more raw broccoli in our diet and this recipe has done it for us! FABULOUS, especially if you are a garlic lover. We switched the oil and vinegar amounts (1/4 cup oil, 1/3 cup vinegar) and forgot to add the parmesan at the end, but we are going to have this side on a regular basis. So healthy. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States