Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This side dish was my contribution to a Father's Day lunch. It was a huge hit. I did do a little tweaking though. I'm not a big fan of raw broccoli, so I steamed the florets from 1 1/2 bunches of broccoli for 3-4 minutes, then drained and rinsed them well with cold water. For the dressing: I blended 2 rounded tsps of minced garlic, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar, 2 Tbsps Dijon nustard, and 2 tsps honey (helps cut the tartness a bit). I poured this over the cooled broccoli and chilled for about 3 hours. I'm not a fan of Parmesan cheese, so I left it out. Next time, I'll try adding a few thinly sliced green onions to the broccoli before adding the dressing. This is a great recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very good if you like salty and tart. I will reduce the salt next time as it was too salty for my taste. I also blended the dressing in a blender and it was quick and easy. Prepared mid-morning and served for dinner. I am in the process of collecting different side dishes as I'm tired of the same stand-bys. This will go into my "keeper" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
WAY, WAY too much salt...be careful! And I usually love garlic, but, thought it had too much garlic too. However, super easy & still liked the oil base (instead of mayo). Will make again, but, with less salt and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by In My LIfe
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very tangy marinade, a good balance to the broccoli. I used regular yellow mustard instead of dijon, and only marinated 1 1/2 hours. Very flavorful and tangy. I would make again, probably adding some other vegetables to the mix (cucumbers, peppers, or peas would be nice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Did not like this. I think the vinegar ruined it or maybe bec there were way too many strong flavors going on. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I'm not a big fan of raw broccoli - but I love it cooked, so I tried this on steamed broccoli. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very good and great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum, this was great. I would definitely make again.I used my broccoli raw as stated. I did reduce the salt to just under 1tsp. I also used 1 huge clove of garlic(prob. equal to 3cloves) used cider vinegar because thats what I had. I didnt do the paste thing with the garlic I just put all marinade ingreds in the blender until smooth, then poured over the broc in a ziploc bag. Turned bag every so often. Topped with fresh grated parm. I used grey poupon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. I used balsamic vinagrette, and swaped the vinegar and oil measurments -- I just didn't like the taste. I think there was just TOO MUCH sauce. I like the taste of broccoli and when I used the sauce I couldn't taste anything but balsamic garlic onion. Next time, if there is a next time, I'll cut all the amounts in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States