Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Too strong of a vinegar taste and very one dimensional. I might keep playing with it because I like the idea. It needs more variety and balance,perhaps less garlic, some sugar and another vegetable. I can see some seeds or nuts for texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Forgot to sprinkle Parmesan cheese on this, but it was stilll delicious. Even better the next day! Going to try it again today with pomegranate infused red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Two stars because I could at least power through my serving. I wasn't impressed at all. Everything was overpowered by the taste of vinegar, even after I added extra-everything-else... I feel like I just wasted good broccoli. Interesting concept, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is okay, but I thought the vinegar taste was overpowering. I tried it with the vinegar indicated in the recipe and with other kinds as suggested by reviewers. I also tried cutting the amount of vinegar way down. However, I only really like this recipe if I omit the vinegar altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a 5 star if you like garlic. I also blanched mine for color in the microwave for 2 min. with a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My new favorite way to eat broccoli! This was amazing! I did mine without Parmesan just because I forgot about it, but still very good! Definitely worth trying- make a big batch to be able to snack on the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this a while back and forgot to review it. I wanted to put in my two cents since many people gave it less than stellar reviews. This was awesome and I am making it again today. I used the mortar and pestle and I think that will make a big difference because it really crushes all that flavor out of the garlic. Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe instructed. I really love strong flavors so if you do not then beware - if you do however, I recommend this. This is a wonderful, easy way to get your greens and I just love that it is served raw because that is more nutritious. I did not cook it beforehand like some others did. I think it cooks a little in the marinade but one of it's most appealing characteristics is it's crunch. It lends a nice balancing texture to any meals where a soft texture may be more dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband said this is his new favourite way to eat broccoli... and that is saying a lot!!! I used 2 cloves of garlic and kept everything else the same. We wanted to eat this right away.. so i mixed it up.. microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes and then put in the fridge.. it was much faster than blanching, and the flavours were wonderful.. done everything in 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very garlicy and tangy! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was such a hit with my family. I didn't have red wine vinegar or three hours (the family was hungry). So I substituted white balsamic vinegar for the red wine; steamed the broccoli and garnished with chopped green onion. The warmth of the broccoli helped the dressing marinate quickly. I was able to serve it in 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munderwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States