Garlic Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
The Garlic Broccoli was extremely tasty. I was amazed how the few simple ingredients completely transformed the dish. However, there was way too much salt for my taste. I would reduce it to about a 1/2 teaspoon instead. Overall, a great take on simple vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon Country, California, USA
Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was good, but pretty intense. 4 cloves fresh garlic + 1 head raw broccoli = breath that can peel wallpaper. Hubby is still making jokes. The Parmesan adds a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very easy to make, I made it for a pot luck and everyone thought it was great! I've used both fresh garlic and crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
For me this was to sour (from the vinegar). Not my favorite thing, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
We love this recipe. I make it at least once a week, because it's my husband's favorite side dish. I do the measurements on olive oil and vinegar backwards. 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup vinegar. The other way was a little too oily. I also add pine nuts (before or after chilling), and my husband gets cranky if I forget the pine nuts. For the Dijon mustard, I use stone-ground mustard. And I almost always an entire pod of garlic. We're of the opinion that you can never have too much garlic, especially if you both have it. I salt everything to taste, so I'm sure I use more like 1/2 tsp. like other commenters mentioned. But I don't even measure salt, I just salt to taste. Oh, also I usually forget to make this ahead of time and end up only marinating it for 1 hour, which is probably why I can get away with using extra vinegar. It doesn't have to marinate for 3 hours. It's fantastic anyway. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Great flavor. It's an easy recipe with great results. Don't forget the cheese at the end, it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
We LOVED this recipe! My hubby usually complains at the sight of raw broccoli and he devoured this and said I should make MORE next time! I followed the recipe almost exactly..only substituting parmiggiano reggiano for the regular parmesan cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Yuck,, too much salt and garlic...after a few bites- had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
We love this recipe. To spice it up, we use Colman's mustard. And for variety we've added blanched asparagus but we've never blanched the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe. It is so simple to make. The only modifications I made were to blanch the broccoli first for the beautiful green color that it brings out, and I also used balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine. It gave it a slightly sweeter taste and very mild acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States