Garlic Broccoli Spears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
In a word, delicious. The lemon juice makes all the difference in the world, cutting down on the somewhat bitter taste broccoli can sometimes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My neighbors gave me a similar recipe, that their "chef" son gave them, but it was a lot more complicated. I found this recipe years ago in one of my TOH magazines & have been making it ever since. I follow the recipe to a T, but I do press my garlic into the lemon juice & let it stand for a while, to "cook" the garlic, before combining all the ing. A little freshly grated parmesan gives it a really nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Quick & simple to take to a dinner! Ahead of time, I slightly under-cooked the broccoli, plunged it into ice water, drained it well and dried it with paper towels. I mixed the dressing to take in a small jar. When we arrived, I heated the broccoli in the microwave, tossed it with the dressing, and added some tiny halved grape tomatoes for color. And it was delicious and looked great and didn't inconvenience the hostess in the kitchen! The dressing also works well with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this exactly as written... but I wish I'd taken previous reviewers' advice and halved the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was so amazingly simple and it was ablsloutely delicious too! I plan on preparing my broccoli this way from now on. The only changes I made were to add just a little less lemon juice than was called for and to steam my broccoli rather than boil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
DELICIOUS! Pressed the garlic and let it sit in the olive oil & fresh lemon juice for a few minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I added a handful of fresh cherry tomatoes (halved) before tossing everything together. The final result is such a pretty presentation and the flavor is so yummy! This is my new favorite way to make broccoli! Thank you so much for the fantastic and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this! I used steam in bag broccoli and the lemon really gave it a nice flavor. I addeed a little more garlic than called for - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I was surprised at how good this was. The lemon is so great with brocolli, I bet it would be good with other veggies. I took the advice of other people and added the lemon a little at a time. I ended up just squeezing a lemon over the brocolli and tasting, it was great. Didnt need as much as the recipe calls for unless you like it lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I was looking for a quick way to jazz up steamed broccoli and this worked perfectly! I followed the recipe as is and it was gobbled up in no time. Some other reviewers thought the amount of lemon juice to be too much, but if you want a bit of a lemon tang, I think that the amount listed in the recipe is perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is darn good. I made it exactly as as specified and mine had a subtle flavor. It didn't overpower the broccoli but rather made it tasty. It didn't seem too lemony or garlicky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States