Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
For a 1 1/2 lb machine, if you change the "customize this recipe" on the bottom of the page to "11" servings you will get a perfect sized loaf. Also put in 3 teaspoons of minced garlic and went heavy on the parmesan and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2002
The only thing I changed is I added about 10-12 small whole cloves to the mixture. I wrapped the entire bulb in wax paper and micro for 20 sec. peel and added. YUUUUUMMMMMY it is not to strong because the whole cloves are sweet like roasted and it looks so pretty when you cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I knew this would not fit in my 1 1/2 pound machine ( 4 cups flour and 2 1/2 teaspoons yeast would be all over the room!! I made this as a dough recipe and then baked it as a long loaf in a 350 oven for about 30 mins. IT WAS DELICIOUS!! Great bread for soups or pasta meals.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This recipe says that you can use the rapid cycle on your bread machine so I did. To me, it didn't cook up in the inside. Maybe I did something wrong, but I wasn't impressed. If I make it again, I definitely won't use the rapid cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
This is THE BEST garlic bread I have ever made in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Kinda bland and not much of a garilic flavor. We enjoyed it with garlic butter, but would add more garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
This was good bread, but did not taste like garlic, even after I doubled the garlic and garlic powder. I might make this again with more garlic, but will more likely try the other bread machine garlic bread listed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
Smells garlicy but does not taste enough. Used the stale bread to make croutons. They are good in cesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This bread smelled great and baked up into a beautiful loaf. However, I found that it was too heavy, dense, doughy and raw on the inside. I was unhappy with this bread. Initially I baked it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, then a few more minutes, totaling 45 minutes. The crust was very dark brown and hard. I think the water and flour ratio is way off. I should have known something wasn’t right when the recipe called for 1 3/8 c. water to 4 c. of bread flour. I presoaked the active yeast in warm water with 2 T sugar for 20 minutes until foamy. I added the flour in batches and the rest of the ingredients. Because some reviews stated the problem with the bread being “too salty,” I cut back on the amount to 1 tsp. I used fresh roasted garlic, 3 tsps. I omitted the black pepper. I guess I am the only other reviewer who had this kind of problem. I have made other breads from scratch and it always came out fine. I felt terrible having wasted a whole bread- I even tried to toast it but it was unedible. Second Attempt, I used only 3c. of bread flour and one package of active yeast. I added the rest of the ingredients (3 tsp garlic, ¼ cup Parm Cheese, 2 T sugar, 1tsp. salt, olive oil, fresh basil, no black pepper) to the dough,I let it rise for an hour before baking. In the end, the bread rose nicely, I had a golden brown crust, bread was warm, fluffy, full of flavor, Gave a nice aroma in the house. I could taste the garlic and cheese! 3 stars for recipe, 5 stars for my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
This bread is very flavorful and stays moist a long time, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States