Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Good bread! I took the advice of another reviewer and cut the servings down to 11 for my 1 1/2 pound bread machine. I used three cloves of garlic and I did cut the pepper down a little bit and I'm glad I did because it was peppery but in a good way. I did add some cajun seasoning so maybe that was it. I also used brown sugar because that is all I had but I don't think the type of sugar really matters anyway. I didn't use the chives as I didn't have any and I added a dash of rosemary. Good with real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was my try at my bread machine. I thought it was good. I will increase the garlic, and decrease the herbs next time I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I found this bread to be a little on the heavy side. I used 4 cloves of garlic and it was still not garlicky enough for my tastes. The bread did have a good flavor and my family enjoyed it quite a bit but it just wasn't quite what I was looking for. I think next time I will add garlic to my own bread recipe but Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ravena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This makes a very good, very large loaf of bread. We used it to make grilled cheese sandwiches and ate it plain with butter. I had so much left that I cut it up and made croutons with it, they were awesome! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This bread turned out wonderful. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
For a 1 1/2 lb machine, if you change the "customize this recipe" on the bottom of the page to "11" servings you will get a perfect sized loaf. Also put in 3 teaspoons of minced garlic and went heavy on the parmesan and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Yummy! I used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I used 4 cloves of garlic, minced, and 2 teaspoons of garlic powder. It was pleasantly garlicky. The next day it was stronger. The rest of the recipe I did not change, except I used freeze-dried chives. It was very good! I will make it the same way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
A yummy bread--- I added more garlic than it called for and could have probably put more in- I omitted the chives- I also used my bread machine to make the dough and then baked it at 350 for 30 min- the bread was a bit heavier than I would have liked but still yummy- worked great for dipping which is how I served it- with dipping oil as a side to chicken parm and spaghetti. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I love garlic bread but find most 'ready made' too greasy. This is a lovely easy to do way for me to 'have my garlic bread and eat it'. Nice combination of garlic and chives. I do have to halve the recipe however as my breadmaker does not handle 2lb loaves. I make it with wholemeal flour which is even better as I love the extra texture as well. I have to say though that adding extra garlic is a necessity for me. Lovely with bolognese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States