Garlic Bread Mama Rita's Way! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This really is a great way to fix garlic bread. I used my usual garlic and onion powders and added more or less to suit our tastes. I used oregano in place of basil and mixed everything together and spread it on a sliced baguette. This went great with spaghetti and meatballs. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
All my friends yelled at me for cooking dinner on my birthday, but hubby did dinner the whole weekend so how could I complain? I don't really know what garlic paste is, so I just roasted a couple of heads of garlic and smashed the cloves. Soooooooooo good Rita and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I have to say, mayonnaise is a little unconventional, but after all, this is garlic bread Mama Rita’s way…and it’s good. I used rolls from an excellent old Italian bakery in Milwaukee, which I believe makes all the difference. This will only be as good as the quality of bread you use. Other than using fresh minced garlic rather than garlic paste (not really sure what the submitter meant) I didn’t play with the recipe. Hubs is out of town so I only made one roll for me – good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Love this recipe. Perfect use for leftover sandwich rolls. You can sub minced garlic or garlic powder for the paste if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was delicious. You can use any sort of rolls and cut them in half or in quarters. I also topped it with mozzerella instead of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Pretty good tasting garlic bread. I couldn't find garlic paste so I used finely minced garlic instead. This made a lot of garlic spread, I had more than plenty for the loaf of French bread I was using. Better tasting than the pre-made garlic breads at the market. I liked this even better than Pepperidge Farm's frozen parmesan-garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Woohoo! I gave this recipe a try & I am sooo glad I did! It was the perfect garlic bread in every way. The only thing I did different was use oregano instead of basil (none on hand). Went perfect with my Sunday gravy. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks Rita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mine Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
The edges burned, and the middle didn't even get warm. Good ingredients, bad baking method. May try again baking at 400 instead of broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Delicious and easy garlic bread. I liked the addition of mayo and the use of fresh basil. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
mmmm..... delicious! the best garlic bread I have ever made!!! It's not a strong garlic flavour but the combination of basil, garlic & parmesan cheese is heavenly. The mayo adds just a touch of sweetness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States