Garlic Bread Mama Rita's Way! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I thought this was a bit on the rich side but I was the only one who thought that - I guess I'm just a garlic bread purest - garlic and butter makes me happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Freakin' awesome, restaurant style garlic bread! Baked instead of broiled, as I don't have much of an attention span, and had to sub out raw garlic 'paste' for some roasted garlic. Worked out fabulous! Make sure to use real butter and mayo for the full effect. :D Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This bread is great! I had to sub garlic powder for the paste, but I loved the mayo addition and using hoagie rolls instead of French or Italian bread. The ONLY thing I'll do different next time is use half the amount of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I LOVED this garlic bread! The only thing I did different was exclude the black pepper and substituted parsley for basil. But that's only because of my taste preferences. I'm sure this recipe is FABULOUS as is! I made this two days in a row because everybody gobbled it up and wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I tried these under the broiler and in the oven and we prefer the oven. My neighbor insists on using mayo in place of butter when it comes to cooking bread and sandwiches. I thought it a little weird, but he is a chef so I tried it and LOVED it! The mayo adds a nice moistness. If I had not already tried the mayo, I probably would have omitted it in this recipe, but glad I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
YUM!!! So good! This was a perfect way to use up leftover hoagie rolls. After reading the recipe, I remembered my mom using hoagie rolls/hot dog buns to make garlic bread sometimes when I was growing up. All the components came together very nicely... we loved the bread, thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was good. I didn't have "fresh basil" so I used "fresh Italian flat leaf parsley," also used a 'french bread' it was on sale. Baked in the oven at 425 degress for 10 min, then broiled, just 2 min. or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I really thought the hoagie bread was a great idea. I usally use french bread, but that is sometimes a little thick, and you get a little bread with some flavoring. This you got a lot of flavoring to compliment the bread. Also, I usually use minced garlic on my garlic bread. The roasted garlic really gave a depth to the flavor. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
just try it, you'll never buy commercial garlic bread again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very good! I just crushed 2 cloves of garlic and added them to my paste - this was really good and very garlicky. It gave me another reason to use my homemade mayonnaise, also on this site. Loved it! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States