Garlic Bread Fantastique Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yum. This is so great. Just be careful not to burn it. 4 minutes under my broiler was almost too much. It would be a shame to ruin such great bread! Caution: be sure your butter is soft enough so you can really blend all the ingredients well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
UPDATE: MADE AGAIN TONIGHT, BUT THIS TIME, I SLICED MY ITALIAN LOAF IN HALF AS DIRECTED, MINCED MY GARLIC AND SPRINKLED WITH SHREDDED MOZZA - EVEN BETTER THIS WAY!!! Pretty good (if I do say so myself!)!!! I had some French baugette leftover from Sun. night's dinner that needed using up, so I decided to give this a try. With a few modifications, I think this has potential to become my "tried & true" stand-by recipe for sure! The recipe I have been using for yrs. is pretty basic - butter, garlic, parsley and Parm mixed together. I like the fact that Mela's recipe is "kicked" up a notch. The mayo and sage are perfect (who knew?)! I did not find this to be salty at all, but I used unsalted butter, so that could be why (?). My only changes were slicing my baugette into med-thick slices as opposed to halving it lengthwise as directed (I wasn't paying attention when I cut my bread into slices!) and mixing the Parm cheese into my butter mixture. Oh, and I drizzled each slice with a bit of EVOO in hopes that everything would "crisp" up a bit (and it did - nicely!). It took exactly 4.5 min. to broil to perfection in my oven. I can't wait to try this with a bit of mozzarella or Italian-blend cheese melted on top, on thick slices of Texas Toast or for meatball sandwiches... yum, yum! My only suggestion for next time (and there will be one!) would be to mince rather than chop my garlic (personal preference), but I still think this is EXCELLENT as is!!! Thanks for sharing, Mela :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Overall very good. As the other reviews said I would definitley reduce or omit the salt and reduce the Oregano. Both were very overpowering. Even though I used unsalted butter it was way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a great garlic bread. I used fresh sage as that's all I had on hand. I used salted butter and the full amount of salt called for and we did not think it was salty at all. Thx for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Yummy. I thought it was too salty, and I only used half of the amount of salt called for, and I used unsalted butter. But my guests thought it was great. But it was still really, really good. Everyone still ate it up. thanks for a great recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Agreed with all of the other reviews that it was GOOD, but too salty. I really liked the butter/mayo mixture, but will omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Best garlic bread!!! Tastes like the garlic bread Costco used to sell, but discontinued several years ago. Love it! I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was just ok. Not really worth the extra fat/calories that the mayo adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Delicious! I sometimes sprinkle on a little parmesan cheese to make it melty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delano, California, USA
Living In: Wasco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Delicious, delicious, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States