Garlic Asparagus with Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Other than using lemon rather than lime, this is a combination of ingredients and flavors I grew up with as a standard with many fresh vegetables. It was the pan sauteeing, however, that made me want to try this and I was very pleased. I've steamed asparagus, roasted it in the oven, and even nuked it...all good, but doing it this way just made it different -- similar to roasting, rich in color, flavor, and almost caramelized. Definitely more depth of flavor than just steaming. This method will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Just like the pan-fried asparagus recipe on this site except for the addition of lime juice. I didn't have shallots, so I used chopped onion. The asparagus was still quite crunchy after 5 minutes of cooking time, so I recommend cooking it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
absolutely delicious! I'm watching my weight, so I only used 1/2tbs butter plus 1 and1/2tsp olive oil(not canola)and didn't have lime so used lemon juice. I shall use a large skillet like recommended, as the med. one I used was not large enough for the asparagus spears to touch the bottom of pan and thus my garlic and shallots burned a bit. I ended up cutting the spears in half while still cooking in pan, but the onion/shallots had already burned! nonetheless, it was still a tasty side! loved it and will cook it many times in the future.Oh, I love garlic so I added a couple more cloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was a nice new way to prepare asparagus. It's the perfect time of year and we picked up the most wonderful thin baby stalks that cooked quite nicely. If they were thicker I would have steamed them briefly in the microwave to get the cooking started, but it wasn't necessary the night I prepared them. They were the perfect accompaniament to thinly sliced flank steak with a rub made from chili/lime/brown sugar and paprika and the orange romaine salad from this site. A perfect spring meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I really liked this. I didn't have shallots so I used red onion. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Actually I wanted to update my previous rating. This is unique and delicious. Warmed it up the following day and it was mmm mmm good, so I am moving my rating up to a 5 Star. Absolutely will keep in my recipe file and make many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Followed recipe in proportions. Each line of flavor complete. Asparagus loves this recipe. You will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Another quick and easy way to prepare asparagus. I used fresh minced garlic and cut the asparagus into 2" pieces. Cooked for 8 minutes but that might have been a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Asparagus is not my favorite; however, this recipe is delicious! I have tried many similiar recipies, but the flavors and method of this recipe is simply delicious! The only changes I made were to use a little less butter & olive oil and lemon instead of lime. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe is simple and extremely tasty. I added a handful of mini bell pepper rings in different colors and it was fascinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States