Garlic Asparagus with Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I was intrigued by the lime aspect of the recipe and found the flavor to complement well with the asparagus. Substituted green onion for the shallot by finely slicing the whites, then slicing length ways and quartering the greens. Thanks for another fine addition to the asparagus segment of the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I was a little skeptical as to whether the asparagus/lime flavors would work, and was actually pleasantly surprised. The first couple of mouthfuls took a bit of getting used to, but we thought it was a good and interesting combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Delicious, except my onions and garlic burnt in the pan by the time the aspargus had cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was a nice new way to prepare asparagus. It's the perfect time of year and we picked up the most wonderful thin baby stalks that cooked quite nicely. If they were thicker I would have steamed them briefly in the microwave to get the cooking started, but it wasn't necessary the night I prepared them. They were the perfect accompaniament to thinly sliced flank steak with a rub made from chili/lime/brown sugar and paprika and the orange romaine salad from this site. A perfect spring meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
The lime was a really nice touch. Didn't change a thing and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
It was really good. I didn't use too much lime though, and I added shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Adorno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used onion instead of shallots too. It went great with grilled lemon chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taralong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very tasty and simple. Be sure to use a large skillet. I substituted yellow onion cut in strips instead of green onion. They caramalized nicely and were so tasty mixed in with the asparagus. We couldn't really taste the lime so might add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
mmmmmmm this recipe is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Cooking for a VERY picky family, finding good vegetable recipe. But this one was an absolute hit! Even with the 5 and 6 year olds!! I didn't have any shallots, so I made it without. Might try it with shallots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States