Garlic Asparagus with Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
We had an abundance of great asparagus from the farmer's market, and we're always looking for different ways to cook up asparagus to entice my son to eat more of it! He loved it! Pairs wonderfully with chili-peach grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was just ok in my opinion. I doubled the lime, and it still didn't taste very "limey". I will try another recipe for asparagus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
The tangy lime and sweet onion compliment each other very well in my opinion. I used onion instead of shallots and used mostly olive oil with only a touch of butter. I also sprinkled a bit of cheese at the end - quite delicious! Next time I will probably start the asparagus first because the onion and garlic got quite crispy towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Great recipe. Cooked asparagus for about 7 minutes, added more lime juice. Good flavor, nice twist to traditional steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Loved this recipe! I covered the pan while cooking the asparagus (used very thin spears) & they were al dente in just a little over 6 minutes. I did sprinkle a bit of shredded swiss cheese on & it was a GREAT addition. Paired very well w/ Orange-Glazed Pork Chops (from this site). Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Turned out delicious, but needs more than 5 min cooking time for asparagus. I left mine in for 15 min or so in a covered skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I definitely had to cook the asparagus for longer than the recipes suggests, and I ended up cutting them in 1/2 in the pan. Using a large enough pan for the spears to fit is crucial, it helped in preventing the shallots & garlic from burning. Maybe it was the lime, but I couldn't quite taste the lime flavor, I think next time I'd use 1/2 lime..or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was fantastic! The only thing I substitued was white onion for the shallots. My husband thought this was the best asparagus he'd ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This asparagus dish is finger licking good. So delicious that I wish I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I was intrigued by the lime aspect of the recipe and found the flavor to complement well with the asparagus. Substituted green onion for the shallot by finely slicing the whites, then slicing length ways and quartering the greens. Thanks for another fine addition to the asparagus segment of the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States