Garlic and Leek Ditalini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My whole family loved this and I don't think it could have possibly worked with milk to replace the cream, there are some recipes that you just have to make up for it in the diet later. It was very rich and filling, but even still my 6 year old have four servings. My 12 year old also made it with my help and he wanted to add chicken and brussel sprouts and it was a good touch to make it a one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Ok, so before I get any slack for this I just want to say that I tried really, REALLY hard to find leeks, and neither of my local stores had them, so I made it work with what I had because I had my heart set on making this today. Having said that, this was DELICIOUS! Instead of the leeks, I used a mix of green onions and sweet onion, which was wonderful and more garlic than called for. Also, I had 1/2 & 1/2 on hand that needed used, so I went with that. IMO, the final dish needed a little salt, but that was my preference. I made this as a side dish to pork parmesan and hubby said he could've eaten this on it's own, so that's saying a lot, lol. This was so simple to make, and it will definately be going into our rotation hopefully I'll find some leeks soon)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I thought I had cream, but I only had half and half; so I thickened the sauce with flour (by taking about 1/4 cup warm sauce and adding about two tablespoons flour & then stirring out all the lumps before adding it back)- I doubled the recipe. I then added a can of minced clams with about two tablespoons of the clam liquid and about 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes... my husband likes spicy food! It turned out extremely well. By the way, I have no idea what ditalini even looks like; instead, I substituted fresh linguini from the grocers fridge:) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My daughter, who is an excellent cook, served this at Easter. The only change she made was substituting light cream for the heavy cream; it was delicious. I hope she makes it a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a QUICK and tasty recipe! It has become a "usual" at our dinner table. My only substitution is olive oil for the butter, but other than that I prepare it as-is. I find the amount of sauce enough for a coating of the pasta instead of being dredged. If you like a more saucy dish I would recommend doubling the sauce portion of the recipe. I give this 5 stars for ease and yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very tasty. I used olive oil and fat free half and half. I also cooked some turkey bacon along with the leeks and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious, and very easy to make. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! Unfortunately, I didn't have any cream or even half & half so I had to use milk but followed the suggestion of another user and added some flour to the leeks/garlic before adding milk. I also doubled the amount of leeks, used about 3 cloves of garlic, and mixed enough cheese just to coat (about 1/3 cup). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vallynn06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was delicious! I used orzo pasta instead of ditalini because that's what I had on hand. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
So simple and so delicious! Made with rotini instead of ditalini and double the amount of sauce. Served with bbq'd tri-tip and my husband and I both thought the pasta outshined the tri-tip! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States