Garlic and Leek Ditalini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good, although it needed way more garlic. I only had skim milk on hand, so I used that along with extra butter. I've never cooked with leeks before (grew them in the garden this year), and they browned a bit more than I would have liked, but I admit to being distracted while they were sauting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I've tried this recipe a few times now, and I just love it. The last time I made it, I used half heavy cream, half milk. I also chopped up and browned some chicken breasts, which went so well with the sauce and pasta. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Good recipe, but I found it to be a bit bland. Definitely needs some salt, maybe some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Delicious! This is my first time trying leeks and this is a fantastic dish. I would actually double the leeks on this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsygirl64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Mmmm, I really enjoyed this smooth and creamy pasta side dish. (Hubs not so much, but then that was a given, considering he doesn’t like “stinky” cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, etc. Even so, he still scarfed it right up!) I had an “Autumn Harvest” special blend orzo I wanted to use, so I substituted that for the ditalini. While it obviously gave this dish extra flavor it wouldn’t have had on its own, I have no doubt I would have enjoyed this just as much had I used the ditalini. The leek was a creative and interesting addition that along with the heavy cream and cheese made a really rich and delectable sauce. I served this with “Veal Marsala,” and “Sauteed Green Beans,” both recipes from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So tasty and simple! I happened to have a "leftover" leek and looked up any recipe to use it and came across this one. I had everything but the cream so I used fat free half and half that I had on hand. Delicious! My kids gobbled it up and requested that I make it again as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was decent but a little plain tasting. I think the leeks should of been cooked longer. I added some chili flakes and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is quick to make and sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
So simple and so delicious! Made with rotini instead of ditalini and double the amount of sauce. Served with bbq'd tri-tip and my husband and I both thought the pasta outshined the tri-tip! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Ok, so before I get any slack for this I just want to say that I tried really, REALLY hard to find leeks, and neither of my local stores had them, so I made it work with what I had because I had my heart set on making this today. Having said that, this was DELICIOUS! Instead of the leeks, I used a mix of green onions and sweet onion, which was wonderful and more garlic than called for. Also, I had 1/2 & 1/2 on hand that needed used, so I went with that. IMO, the final dish needed a little salt, but that was my preference. I made this as a side dish to pork parmesan and hubby said he could've eaten this on it's own, so that's saying a lot, lol. This was so simple to make, and it will definately be going into our rotation hopefully I'll find some leeks soon)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States