Garlic and Basil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Okay I really hate to give a recipe a bad review espically if we just didn't care for the "outcome" of a recipe. This dressing is very thick, and very strong. It really over powers the flavors of the salad. Not what I expected from a vinaigrette. But with that being said I am going to give it a higher rating because it is awesome on grilled chicken and pasta. I didn't want to throw it away so I mixed it in with some left over pasta, grilled chicken, and parmeasean cheese. It tasted almost like pesto but lower in calories and fat. So give it a try on your pasta and skip in it as a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is VERY thick as written. You have to play with the ingredients as stated. I had to keep adding vinegar and oil to this plus a bit of sugar to get the desired taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Everyone loved this! Had with a simple salad of romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, and celery. Did not make any changes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Since I scaled this down to just two servings, I was unable to prepare this using a blender as there wasn't enough there to work with! So I chopped up everything real fine, then put Hubs to work with a mortar and pestle, which did the trick nicely. As I slowly drizzled in the olive oil it came together into a nice, rich emulsion. This was really good - both the fresh basil and garlic are evident, but neither overpowers. It is thicker than the typical vinaigrette as some reviewers commented, but I had no problem lightly dressing the salad with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is an EXCELLENT salad dressing, but it IS very thick. As I was pouring it into a 'Good Seasons' bottle, I took a cue from that tried and true recipe and added a bit of water. Just 2T was enough to make it smoother, but still hearty enough to cling to the greens. I look forward to trying it on pasta. Also, taste before salting. I opted to completely leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This vinaigrette was delicious! I loved the balsamic vinager in it! and the basil gave it a very fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was great. I'll never buy a store brand again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
As a salad dressing, way too thick...as a spread for grilled chicken, roasted peppers, fresh mozzarella and baby spinach on whole wheat hoagie rolls, absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Incredible fresh flavor, but I do grow my own basil. I used that, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper corns. I found it is awesome on chicken too, especially if you add two tablespoons each of minced onion and red sweet pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good, I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, to cut the vinegar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidij

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States